Skip to main content

With the rapid development of the internet and social media, crowdfunding activities have emerged internationally and locally over the past few years. Crowdfunding is an umbrella term describing the use of monetary contributions, obtained from a large number of individuals or organisations, to fund a project, a business, a company, a loan or a donation, and other needs through an online platform.

Equity crowdfunding (ECF) is a common type of crowdfunding activity where investors usually invest in a project or a business (often a start-up) through an online platform, typically in return for an interest in shares issued by a company.

How does ECF work?

Investors can visit the ECF platforms via the internet or mobile applications, which may show an overview of the projects/companies being pitched. Investors may need to register with the platforms in order to see further details of the pitches and other information (such as terms and conditions), or to invest in a project/company.

There are generally two types of ECF platforms. Entrepreneur-led platforms are the ones where business owners set the investment terms, including share price and the amount of equity to be offered. Investor-led platforms are the ones where lead investors negotiate investment terms with the business owner, invest their own money, and then open the investment for participation by other investors under the terms as negotiated by the lead investors.

ECF platforms usually charge a fee as a percentage of the total amount raised plus transaction fees. Some platforms also have application fees that a business has to pay, whether it's successful in raising the desired funds or not. Some platforms may charge a management fee that is payable by investors as well.

Risks associated with ECF(Note 1)

While ECF offers investors an opportunity to participate in an early-stage venture, this may involve very high risks. Investors may stand to lose all of their investments. Some of the key risks include:

  • Risk of bankruptcy of the issuer

    Failure rates of start-ups are estimated to range between 50%-90%. Unlike an investment in a mature business where there is a track record of revenue and income, the success of a start-up or early-stage venture often relies on the development of a new product or service that may or may not find a market. Also, investment horizons can be very long, further increasing the probability of failure.

  • Liquidity risk/lack of secondary market liquidity for the equity investments

    Securities purchased through ECF platforms may have very limited secondary market liquidity. Start-ups and small enterprises that are funded through ECF often do not meet the listing requirements for an IPO, thereby limiting exit avenues for investors. In comparison, listed securities generally provide greater opportunities for investors to exit their investments. Besides, the equity of start-ups/small enterprises may be difficult to value and may be subject to dilution by further issuance.

  • Risk of conducting unlicensed activities

    Some platforms may contend that they do not engage in regulated activities because they only provide information services. However, the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) may take a different view and consider that the licensing requirements under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO) are triggered. Platforms/platform operators carrying on business in regulated activities under the SFO without a licence is an offence under the SFO. Please refer to the section below "How is ECF regulated in Hong Kong?".

  • Disclosure risks

    Investment proposals on platforms may lack standardisation and provide less detail than securities in the public markets, making it harder for investors to understand the risks. For example, investors may not have sufficient information about the issuer and the offering, the company's business plan and use of proceeds. Even if the information is available, it may not be easily verifiable either. Investors may not be able to get full disclosure about the business or investment product before and after they invest in it.

  • Risk of collapse, fraud or malpractice by the platform

    In recent years, certain cases of platform fraud, collapse and closure have materialised and caused investor losses.

  • Cross-border risk

    A few platforms have started cross-border activities. It is often unclear in such cases under which law the investors can seek redress in case of fraud, default or bankruptcy. Even if a platform is licensed offshore, investors may have difficulty enforcing their rights and interests if anything goes wrong.

  • Cyber security

    Cyber-attacks may come in various forms, such as hacking, overloading a platform's infrastructure, confusing accounts, identity theft and/or stealing information including personal data.

  • Illegal activities

    Some platforms/users of platforms may be involved in illegal activities, such as fraud by parties making offers on the platform, money laundering or other illegal commerce that could lead to regulatory actions including suspension by relevant law enforcement agencies.

How is ECF regulated in Hong Kong?

As can be discerned from the description above, ECF typically involves the offering of shares issued by a company. Consequently, these business models may engage the application of the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance (CWUMPO) and of the SFO. The platform/platform operator may also need to be licensed under the SFO before it is permitted to carry on a business in its activities. In addition, depending on the specific structure and features of the arrangement, the investment offered on the platform may be subject to the restrictions on offers of investments under the SFO, and/or the prospectus-related requirements under the CWUMPO.

Due to the inherent risk of long term investment in unlisted securities, the SFC may consider that certain crowdfunding platforms are not suitable for retail investors and may only approve licensing applications with a condition that the crowdfunding platforms should limit their services to professional investors.(Note 2 & 3)

Key points for investors to take away

If you are an investor and interested in participating in ECF:

  1. Check if local or cross-border

    Check where the platform is incorporated/operating from. If it is operating from outside Hong Kong, Hong Kong investors will face additional cross-border issues when trying to recoup their investment in case of fraud, default or bankruptcy.

  2. Check if licensed or not

    Where a platform states that it is licensed by the SFC, you can check the public register on the website of the SFC to verify the platform's licensing status. Investors should be aware that only if the platform is duly licensed would it be covered by oversight by the SFC and by the SFO, and/or CWUMPO, and/or the regulations which the SFC administers.

  3. Investor limitations

    Understand the investor limitations. The platform may have a limitation (e.g. legal restriction or licensing condition) that only professional investors can invest in the products and services advertised.

  4. Read any terms and conditions

    Read the terms and conditions of the platform, any documentation that you are asked to sign, and any data privacy waivers very carefully.

  5. Understand the safeguards

    Understand how the platform is operated and the safeguards it adopts to protect your interests, including your investing interests as well as your data security interests.

  6. Understand the risks

    Understand the risks associated with ECF and carefully assess whether your personal circumstances allow you to take on the risks involved.

  7. Make informed investment decisions

    Be reminded that making uninformed investment decisions based on unverified information is highly risky and may lead to a total loss of your investments. You should not invest in any financial products or activities that you do not know or understand. You should seek professional advice if in doubt.

 

Notes:

  1. Reference has been made to two IOSCO papers:

  2. Other types of crowdfunding (may or may not be in the form of equity-based) or alternative financing activities e.g. real estate crowdfunding, invoice and trade receivables trading (online), debt crowdfunding/peer-to-peer lending etc may also be subject to the provisions of the SFO and the CWUMPO depending on the specific structure and features of the arrangement. The platforms/platform operators may also need to be licensed under the SFO before they are permitted to carry on a business in these activities.

  3. Donation crowdfunding and reward-based crowdfunding may not engage the application of the CWUMPO/SFO. However, soliciting funds via such types of crowdfunding may engage the application of other laws or regulations, such as those governing the operating of charities and not-for-profit organisations.

Skip to main content

隨著互聯網及社交媒體迅速發展,眾籌活動於過去數年在國際及香港日漸活躍。眾籌一詞的涵義是經網上平台,將從眾多個人或機構取得的小額款項用於向某項目、業務、公司、貸款或捐贈,以及為其他需要提供資金。

股權眾籌是一種常見的眾籌活動,讓投資者經網上平台,投資於某項目或業務(通常是新成立的項目或業務,或稱為初創企業),從而獲取有關公司發行的股份權益。

股權眾籌如何運作?

投資者可以透過互聯網或手機應用程式瀏覽股權眾籌平台,參閱眾籌項目/公司的資料概要。投資者可能需要在平台上進行登記,才可瀏覽有關眾籌項目/公司的進一步詳情及條款細則等其他資料,並且進行投資。

股權眾籌平台一般可分為兩類。企業家主導平台由集資的公司訂立投資條款,包括將予發售的股份數量及股價;而投資者主導平台則由主要投資者與集資公司進行洽商,爭取較佳的投資條款,主要投資者除了投入資金外,亦會讓其他投資者按相同的條款參與投資。

股權眾籌平台通常收取集資金額的某個百分比作為費用,另加交易收費。部分平台亦會向集資公司徵收申請費,無論最終是否成功籌募所需資金,有關費用將不予退還。此外,有些股權眾籌平台亦會向投資者收取管理費。

股權眾籌涉及的風險 (註1)

雖然股權眾籌讓投資者有機會參與初創企業投資,但這類投資涉及的風險亦可能很高,投資者甚至可能損失全部投資金額。主要風險包括:

  • 集資公司倒閉的風險

    一般估計,初創企業失敗的機會率為50%至90%。有別於那些收入和盈利均有跡可尋的成熟公司,初創企業能否成功通常取決於新產品或服務的研發,但這些產品或服務卻不一定有市場需求。此外,投資及研發期可以很長,亦增加了初創企業失敗的機會率。

  • 流通性風險/缺乏二手市場

    在股權眾籌平台出售的證券可能缺乏二手市場。在股權眾籌平台集資的初創或小型企業通常不符合交易所新股上市的規定及要求,因此變現渠道十分有限。相對而言,上市證券一般較容易出售及有較佳的流通性。此外,初創企業/小型企業的股權可能難以估值,股份價值亦可能因進一步發行股份而被攤薄。

  • 無牌進行受規管活動

    有些股權眾籌平台聲稱只提供資訊服務,所以並不涉及受規管活動。但是,證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)可能有不同看法,並且認為相關股權眾籌活動可能觸及《證券及期貨條例》的牌照要求。根據《證券及期貨條例》,平台/平台營運商無牌進行《證券及期貨條例》下的受規管活動屬違法行為。詳情請見"股權眾籌在香港的規管"一節。

  • 資訊披露風險

    相比上市的證券,眾籌平台的投資項目資料可能沒有劃一標準及有欠詳細,使投資者難以了解相關風險。例如,投資者可能得不到發行人、集資項目、項目發展計劃及籌募資金用途的足夠資訊。即使取得有關資料,亦難以核實其真確性。投資者可能在投資前及投資後均難以獲得有關集資項目/投資產品的全部資訊。

  • 平台倒閉、欺詐或舞弊的風險

    近年,有些眾籌平台出現欺詐、倒閉及停止運作等情況,令投資者蒙受損失。

  • 跨境風險

    有些眾籌平台已開展跨境活動。如這類平台出現欺詐、違約或倒閉等情況,一般難以界定投資者應根據何處的法例追溯權益。即使平台在海外地區獲發牌照,但假如出現任何問題,投資者亦可能難以行使權利及保障自己。

  • 網絡安全

    網絡襲擊的形式多不勝數,例如黑客入侵、使眾籌平台的基建設施超出負荷、混淆帳戶、盜用身分及/或竊取個人資料。

  • 違法活動

    有些眾籌平台/平台使用者可能涉及違法活動,例如詐騙、洗錢或其他違法的商業活動,或會導致相關的執法機關採取監管行動,包括暫停有關平台的運作。

股權眾籌在香港的規管

從上述討論可見,股權眾籌一般涉及發售公司所發行的股份。因此,這類商業模式可能受《公司(清盤及雜項條文)條例》及《證券及期貨條例》所規管。股權眾籌平台/平台營運商亦可能需持有《證券及期貨條例》下的牌照,才可以進行有關活動。此外,視乎眾籌的結構及特點,眾籌平台提供的投資項目可能受《證券及期貨條例》有關投資要約及/或在《公司(清盤及雜項條文)條例》下與招股章程相關的法規所規管。

考慮到長期投資於非上市證券的相關風險,證監會可能認為部分眾籌平台不適合散戶投資者參與,以及可能只審批那些附帶"僅供專業投資者參與"條件的眾籌平台作出的牌照申請。(註2及3)

投資者須知

如果你是投資者,並有興趣參與股權眾籌活動,你必須留意以下幾點﹕

  1. 是本地,還是海外跨境平台?

    了解眾籌平台的註冊及營運所在地。如果平台在香港以外地區運作,一旦遇上欺詐、違約或倒閉的情況,香港投資者在追討權益時將會面對額外的跨境問題。

  2. 是否持有牌照?

    如果眾籌平台聲稱獲證監會發牌,你可以在證監會網站的公眾紀錄冊查核其牌照狀況。投資者須留意,只有正式領有牌照的平台才受證監會、《證券及期貨條例》、《公司(清盤及雜項條文)條例》及/或其他由證監會執行的法規所規管。

  3. 投資者限制

    了解投資者的限制。有些平台可能只限專業投資者參與投資和使用服務(例如基於法律限制或牌照條件的原因)。

  4. 參閱條款及細則

    仔細閱讀平台的條款及細則、平台要求你簽署的任何文件及私隱豁免條文等。

  5. 了解保障措施

    了解平台如何運作,及平台為了保障投資者權益(包括你的投資及個人資料的安全)而採取的措施。

  6. 了解相關風險

    了解股權眾籌的相關風險,並小心考慮自己的個人情況,衡量是否可以承受有關風險。

  7. 作審慎的投資決定

    請緊記,基於未經核實的資料,並在沒有掌握充分資料的情況下作出投資決定,會涉及很高的風險,並可能令你損失全部投資。你不應投資任何你不認識或不理解的金融產品或活動。如有任何疑問,應尋求專業意見。

 

註:

  1. 有關資料參考自兩份國際證券事務監察委員會組織(IOSCO)發出的報告:

  2. 視乎有關活動的結構及特點,其他類型的眾籌(可以是股權或非股權形式)或另類集資活動,例如房地產眾籌票據及貿易應收帳款交易(網上)債務眾籌/點對點網絡貸款等可能受《公司(清盤及雜項條文)條例》及《證券及期貨條例》所規管。這些平台/平台營運商亦可能需持有《證券及期貨條例》下的牌照,才可以進行有關活動。

  3. 捐贈眾籌報酬/預售眾籌可能不涉及《公司(清盤及雜項條文)條例》/《證券及期貨條例》。然而,透過這類眾籌募集資金可能受其他法例所監管,例如監管慈善團體及非牟利機構運作的法例。