Skip to main content
  • 1. Some ILAS bear names such as savings, savings account and saving plan, etc. If I subscribe to one of these products, is it an insurance plan or an investment/deposit product?

    Despite adopting these names, when you subscribe to an ILAS, you are only entering into an insurance contract with the insurance company. You should also note that, even if the ILAS has an underlying investment option, you - the policy holder - do not have ownership of the invested assets. Such assets are kept and owned by the insurance company which offers the ILAS. In case the insurance company becomes insolvent, you will only have a contractual claim and may lose the entire value of your investment. In addition, even if an ILAS bears the name of savings, savings account or savings plan, it is i) neither a bank deposit nor a savings account; ii) not a capital guaranteed / protected product; and iii) not a protected deposit for the purpose of the Deposit Protection Scheme. Prominent disclosures to these effects are already included in the appropriate ILAS.

    When you consider whether an ILAS suits your needs, you should read its offering documents, including the Product Key Facts Statement (KFS) and its Important Facts Statement (IFS) to know more about its nature, features, fees and risks, etc., before making your decision. If you have any questions about the product or its offering documents (including the Product KFS) and IFS, ask the sales intermediaries to explain. And if you are still in doubt, seek independent advice from other professionals.

  • 2. I have heard of a "Contribution/Premium Holiday" which enables me to stop contributing after a period of time. How does it work?

    Some insurance companies may allow you to suspend your premium payments temporarily for your ILAS often after a specific period of time by applying for a "contribution/premium holiday". You should note that "contribution/premium holiday", if available under your ILAS, is not a permanent suspension of payment and your ILAS is typically still subject to ongoing fees and charges.

    Furthermore, you may be required to resume your contributions during your "contribution/premium holiday" if the value of your policy account drops below a minimum level set by the insurance company or becomes insufficient to cover all relevant fees and charges under your ILAS, depending on the terms of your ILAS. This may happen, for instance, if the underlying investments of your ILAS suddenly drop in value. If you fail to pay premiums as and when required by your insurance company, your ILAS may be terminated early (i.e. before maturity) and you may be subject to a surrender penalty.

  • 3. There is an investment option with a guarantee feature in my ILAS. Is it the same as an ordinary guaranteed fund?

    Some insurance companies offer an investment option that seeks to preserve your capital or even provide you with a guaranteed return if you hold your investment until maturity. Usually, an investment option with such a guarantee feature has as its underlying fund a guaranteed fund. As such, the guarantee of the underlying guaranteed fund would also have implications on whether your ILAS is able to deliver the guarantee. In this case, in addition to the credit risk of the insurance company, you are subject to the credit risk of the guarantor of the underlying fund, as any inability on the part of the guarantor to deliver its guarantee will result in you not obtaining guarantee on your investment option.

    Find out information regarding the underlying guaranteed fund from the offering documents of the ILAS and the underlying fund, and verify whether any party would be responsible for delivering the guarantee under your ILAS. Also, pay attention to the conditions that you have to satisfy in order to qualify for the guaranteed amount. You will not be able to enjoy the guarantee if you withdraw from your ILAS before maturity.

  • 4. There is an investment option available under my ILAS with dividend distribution / payout on a regular basis. How does it work? How will such distribution / payout impact on my ILAS policy?

    Some ILAS products may offer an investment option that distributes dividends on a regular basis. Such type of investment option will typically link to the distribution share class of an underlying/reference fund which may make distributions on a regular basis. Please note however that in many cases the investment option and the corresponding underlying/reference fund will not guarantee the dividend distribution, the frequency of distribution, and the amount of dividend payouts. Distribution by the underlying/reference fund will result in an immediate reduction of the net asset value per share of the underlying/reference fund after the distribution, which will in turn affect the price of the investment option. As such, it will reduce the value of the ILAS policy and therefore any death benefit payable may be reduced. You should read the offering documents of the ILAS products and the underlying/reference funds for details (including their investment objectives and policies, risk factors and charges, etc.).

  • 5. Will I be entitled to recover my share of the underlying assets held in an ILAS if the insurance company offering that ILAS goes into insolvency?

    An ILAS is an insurance policy and you are an unsecured creditor if the insurance company becomes insolvent. The premium paid by you under an ILAS and any investment made by the insurance company in respect of the ILAS will become and remain the assets of the insurance company. Therefore, the underlying assets of an ILAS are not owned by you. Instead, they are owned by the insurance company that offers the ILAS. Hence, you may not be able to recover your share of the underlying assets if the insurance company becomes insolvent and/or does not have sufficient assets to cover the obligations (eg due to other senior/secured creditors).

  • 6. What is a cooling-off period?

    The "cooling-off" period is a period during which you may cancel the ILAS and recover your original investments (subject to market value adjustment) within the earlier of 21 days after the delivery of the ILAS or issuance of a notice to you or your representative. Such notice should inform you of the availability of the ILAS and expiry date of the cooling-off period.

    For reference, please review the "cooling-off" initiative issued by Hong Kong Federation of Insurers from time to time.

    If you wish to withdraw from an ILAS during the "cooling-off" period, please be reminded to serve a written notice to the ILAS issuer.

  • 7. How can I know the remuneration that the intermediary will obtain by selling the ILAS to me?

    Intermediaries selling ILAS products are required to disclose at the point-of-sale the remuneration receivable by the intermediaries. This is to enhance transparency and allow customers to consider whether there exists any potential conflicts of interests and whether the remuneration would affect the intermediaries’ recommendation of the ILAS product concerned.

    The remuneration should cover all monetary and non-monetary remuneration to the intermediary attributable to the sale of the ILAS product, including the basic commission, renewal commissions, trailers, facilitation fees, referral fees, production bonuses, persistency incentives etc.

    It is a compulsory upfront written disclosure in the IFS and uses “all-year-average” calculation, ie dividing the total payment to the intermediary attributable to the concerned ILAS policy by the total premium payable over the whole premium payment term (please refer to the below example).

    Example of "all-year-average" calculation:

    Product A (10-year regular premium ILAS)

    Premium: HK$100,000 per annum
    Total Premiums: HK$100,000 x 10 = HK$1,000,000

    First Year Commission: 15% of first year premium (HK$100,000 x 15% = HK$15,000)
    Renewal Commission: 3% of annual premium for the second to sixth years (HK$100,000 x 3% x 5 = HK$15,000)
    Total Commissions: HK$15,000 + HK$15,000 = HK$30,000

    All-year-average: HK$30,000 ÷ HK$1,000,000 = 3% (In the IFS, it is presented as HK$3 per HK$100 of premium.)

Skip to main content
  • 1. 某些投資相連壽險計劃會冠以存款、儲蓄計劃或儲蓄戶口等名稱。假如我決定購買,所買入的究竟是保險產品,還是投資/存款產品?

    不論這些產品採用甚麼名稱,當你參與投資相連壽險計劃時,你只是與保險公司簽訂保險合約。你應留意,即使該投資相連壽險計劃設有投資選項,但由於你的身分是投保人,你對那些投資項目並無擁有權。那些資產其實是由提供該投資相連壽險計劃的保險公司保管和擁有。所以一旦保險公司無力償債,你只可按照保單合約條款提出申索,而且有可能損失全部投資本金。此外,即使投資相連壽險計劃被冠以存款、儲蓄戶口或儲蓄計劃等名稱,該計劃: i) 並非銀行存款或儲蓄戶口;ii)並非保本產品;及iii)並不受存款保障計劃所保障。投資相連壽險計劃應在銷售文件以顯眼方式披露這些資料。

    要衡量某投資相連壽險計劃是否適合你,首先要細閱該產品的銷告文件(包括產品資料概要)及重要資料聲明書,清楚認識計劃的性質、特點、收費及風險後,才作出決定。假如對該計劃或銷售文件(包括產品資料概要)及重要資料聲明書的內容有任何疑問,應要求銷售中介人詳加解釋。若仍有疑問,應徵詢其他專業人員的獨立意見。

  • 2. 我聽說投資相連壽險計劃有所謂“供款假期/保費假期”,可以讓我供款一段時間後停供。究竟是甚麼一回事?

    某些保險公司可能會設有“供款假期”或“保費假期”,讓你申請暫時停止供款,而投保人一般須在保單生效起計的一段指定時間以後才可申請暫停供款。必須注意的是,即使你所參予的計劃設有供款/保費假期,這並不表示你可以永久停止供款,而且保險公司一般會繼續就該投資相連壽險計劃收取費用。

    此外,如果你的保單帳戶價值跌穿保險公司所設定的最低水平,或不足以支付計劃的各項費用,則視乎該計劃的條款而定,你可能須在“供款假期”或“保費假期”期間重新供款。舉例說,假如你的投資相連壽險計劃所投資的相關資產的價值突然下跌,便可能會發生上述情況。屆時如果你未能應保險公司的要求繳付保費,你的投資相連壽險計劃可能會被提前終止(即在到期前終止),而你可能要支付提前退保費用。

  • 3. 我的投資相連壽險計劃提供設有本金或回報保證的投資選項。這些選項與一般的保證基金是否相同?

    一些保險公司會提供設有本金或回報保證的投資選項,讓你在投資期滿時取回本金甚或保證回報。設有保證的投資選項一般會投資於保證基金,因此相關的保證基金實際上能否保本或提供保證回報,亦會影響你的投資相連壽險計劃的本金或回報保證。在這情況下,除了保險公司的信貸風險,你還須承受相關基金的保證人的信貸風險,因為一旦該保證人無法兌現保證,你亦不能獲取投資選項提供的本金或回報保證。

    請緊記細閱投資相連壽險計劃的銷售文件,以及相關保證基金的銷售文件,並查核須就投資相連壽險計劃履行有關保證責任的一方。此外,你還要留意投保人須符合哪些條件才可取得保證金額。如果你在計劃到期前退保,將不能享有本金或回報保證。

  • 4. 我的投連壽險計劃有一個定期派息的投資選項。這是如何運作的?派息對我的投連壽險計劃有什麼影響?

    有些投連壽險產品提供定期派息的投資選項。這種投資選項一般與相關或參考基金的定期派息基金單位類別掛鉤。但是,不少這類投資選項及其相關或參考基金並不保證一定派息,亦不保證派息的次數及金額。相關或參考基金的每單位資產淨值會在基金派息後隨即下跌,從而影響該投資選項的價格。因此,投連壽險計劃的價值亦會下跌,而身故賠償金額亦可能會減少。你應閱讀投連壽險產品及相關或參考基金的銷售文件,了解其詳細資料,包括投資目標及策略、風險因素及收費等等。

  • 5. 提供投資相連壽險計劃的保險公司無力償債,我是否有權取回相關資產中屬於我的份額?

    投資相連壽險計劃屬保險計劃,一旦保險公司無力償債,你是該公司的無抵押債權人。你在投資相連壽險計劃下所繳付的保費,連同保險公司就投資相連壽險計劃所作出的投資,均會成為及繼續是保險公司的資產。因此,投資相連壽險計劃的相關資產的擁有人不是你,而是提供該計劃的保險公司。因此,一旦保險公司無力償債,及/或無足夠資產償付其他債項(例如對其他優先或有擔保債權人的債項),你可能無法取回相關資產中屬於你的份額。

  • 6. 什麼是冷靜期

    你可在冷靜期內取消投資相連壽險計劃的保單,以取回(按市值作出調整的)投資本金。冷靜期是指由保險公司向你或你的代表交付投資相連壽險計劃保單或發出通知書後起計的21天,以日期較早者為準。該通知書應說明投資相連壽險計劃保單是否生效,以及冷靜期到期日。

    有關詳情,請參閱香港保險業聯會不時公布的“冷靜期”指引。

    若有意在“冷靜期”內退保,請謹記向投資相連壽險計劃的發行商發出書面通知。

  • 7. 如何得知中介人向我銷售投資相連壽險保單獲得的酬勞?

    中介人須按規定於銷售過程中披露銷售投連壽險保單而獲得的酬勞。此舉目的是加強透明度,幫助消費者考慮中介人是否有潛在的利益衝突,及其推介產品會否受銷售該保單的酬勞所影響。

    酬勞應包括所有因銷售該投連壽險保單而獲得的金錢及非金錢酬勞,包括基本佣金、續期佣金、基金價值佣金、營銷費用、轉介紹費、銷售獎金、延續獎金等等。

    按規定,中介人必須在「重要資料聲明書」以書面按「全期平均比率計算」披露中介人可獲取的酬勞。「全期平均比率計算」指中介人透過銷售投連壽險保單而直接獲得的酬勞佔客戶全期所須繳付保費的百分比(見以下例子)。

    「全期平均比率」例子:

    投連壽險產品A (10年的定期供款保單)

    保費: 每年HK$100,000
    全期保費: HK$100,000 x 10 = HK$1,000,000

    首年佣金: 首年保費的15% (HK$100,000 x 15% = HK$15,000)
    續保佣金: 第二至第六年保費的3% (HK$100,000 x 3% x 5 = HK$15,000)
    總佣金: HK$15,000 + HK$15,000 = HK$30,000

    「全期平均酬勞百分率」: HK$30,000 ÷ HK$1,000,000 = 3% (在重要資料聲明書中,以你每繳付$100 元保費金額,中介人將平均獲得$3 酬勞表達。)