Skip to main content

Peer-to-peer (P2P) lending is a type of micro-financing activity conducted through an online platform, by matching people who have money to invest with people who are looking for a loan. Different forms of P2P lending have emerged, e.g. business lending and consumer (including student) lending.

How does P2P lending work?

P2P lending typically involves a service provider, through an online platform or a mobile application, acting as a middleman to link investors (or lenders) with borrowers looking for capital. P2P lending service providers typically leverage technology to attain cost advantages compared with traditional brick and mortar financial institutions, such as lower overhead costs, and can therefore work with lower interest margins.

Borrowers can apply for loans via a P2P lending platform, which typically sets the terms of the loan, such as interest rates and repayment terms, and may also conduct credit checks on borrowers. Investors are invited via the platform to fund such loans, and once the funding target is met, the loan is offered to the borrower. Thereafter, the platform may also provide investors with associated services, such as dealing with repayments and interest payments from borrowers, and handling default payments. P2P lending platforms' revenue model typically involves earning an interest spread of the loans and/or charging borrowers and investors fees for using the platform's services.

For example, a borrower submits a request to a P2P lending platform to borrow $30,000 for one year to settle credit card debts while another borrower wants to get a $50,000 two-year loan for buying a car. Investors can then review the online profiles and select the loans that they want to finance.

Risks associated with P2P lending(Note)

Investing in P2P loans may offer comparatively higher returns on capital (than for example, bank deposits) but it also comes with higher risks. Investors may stand to lose all of their investments. Some of the key risks include:

  • Default risk of the borrower

    A loan through a P2P platform exposes the investor to the risk of borrowers failing to make timely interest and loan repayments. In certain cases borrowers may fail to repay at all, thereby causing the loss of the entire investment.

  • Credit risk

    The creditworthiness of borrowers would be an important factor to consider in investing in P2P loans. Background credit checks conducted by P2P platforms may not be as rigorous or consistent with that of established credit agencies, and overreliance on credit risk models used by the platforms carries risk. P2P platforms may also have lower thresholds on the creditworthiness of borrowers that are able to obtain loans via their platforms. Oftentimes, higher credit risk borrowers who are unable to get a loan from traditional banks turn to P2P borrowing.

  • Liquidity risk/lack of secondary market liquidity for the loans

    Some P2P platforms may allow investors to sell their loan investments before the loan is fully repaid, but the investor's ability to sell their loan depends on another investor's interest in that loan. Investors may find it difficult to sell their loans if the borrower is experiencing any kind of strain, for example negative news reports or a repeated late payment history. Some P2P lending platforms may also suspend loan sales to protect new investors from investing in a loan where there is a known issue.

  • Risk of conducting unlicensed activities

    Some platforms may contend that they do not engage in regulated activities because they only offer loan services and provide information services. However, the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC) may take a different view and consider that the licensing requirements under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (SFO) are triggered. Platforms/platform operators carrying on business in regulated activities under the SFO without a licence is an offence under the SFO. Please refer to the section below "How is P2P lending regulated in Hong Kong?".

  • Disclosure risks

    Investment proposals on platforms may lack standardisation and provide less detail than securities in the public markets, making it harder for investors to understand the risks. For example, there may be limited information on how due diligence is conducted on borrowers, methods for modelling credit risk, or a lack of clear and comparable default data on loan portfolios. Investors may not know the borrower's profile from the platforms (sometimes even after the investment is made), and the information available may not be properly verified either.

  • Risk of collapse, fraud or malpractice by the platform

    In recent years, certain cases of platform fraud, collapse and closure have materialised and caused investor losses.

  • Cross-border risk

    A few platforms have started offering loan investments on a cross-border basis. It is often unclear in such cases under which law the investors can seek redress in case of fraud, default or bankruptcy by the borrower or the platform. Even if a platform is licensed offshore, investors may have difficulty enforcing their rights and interests if anything goes wrong.

  • Cyber security

    Cyber-attacks may come in various forms, such as hacking, overloading a platform's infrastructure, confusing accounts, identity theft and/or stealing information including personal data.

  • Illegal activities

    Some platforms/users of platforms may be involved in illegal activities, such as fraud by parties making offers on the platform, money laundering or other illegal commerce that could lead to regulatory actions including suspension by relevant law enforcement agencies.

How is P2P lending regulated in Hong Kong?

The term "securities" is defined widely under the SFO, and its meaning extends beyond shares in a company. The term may also include debentures of a company and interests in a collective investment scheme. Therefore, depending on the manner in which a P2P platform structures its business, its activities may involve dealing in or advising on securities, which are regulated activities under the SFO. In such a case, the platform/platform operator may need to be licensed under the SFO before it is permitted to carry on a business in such activity.

In addition, depending on the specific structure and features of the arrangement, the investment offered on the P2P platform may be subject to the restrictions on offers of investments under the SFO.

Due to the risk associated with P2P lending, the SFC may consider that certain P2P lending platforms are not suitable for retail investors and may only approve licensing applications with a condition that the P2P lending platforms should limit their services to professional investors.

Other Hong Kong laws and regulations may also apply, e.g. P2P lending platforms and the operators may need to apply for a money lender's licence from the Companies Registry.

Key points for investors to take away

If you are an investor and interested in participating in P2P lending:

  1. Check if local or cross-border

    Check where the platform is incorporated/operating from. If it is operating from outside Hong Kong, Hong Kong investors will face additional cross-border issues when trying to recoup their investment in case of fraud, default or bankruptcy.

  2. Check if licensed or not

    Where a platform states that it is licensed by the SFC, you can check the public register on the website of the SFC to verify the platform's licensing status. Investors should be aware that only if the platform is duly licensed would it be covered by oversight by the SFC and by the SFO and the regulations which the SFC administers.

    Also, where a platform states that it is a licensed money lender in Hong Kong, you can check the public register on the website of the Companies Registry to verify the platform's licensing status.

  3. Investor limitations

    Understand the investor limitations. The platform may have a limitation (e.g. legal restriction or licensing condition) that only professional investors can invest in the products and services advertised.

  4. Read any terms and conditions

    Read the terms and conditions of the platform, any documentation that you are asked to sign, and any data privacy waivers very carefully.

  5. Understand the safeguards

    Understand how the platform is operated and the safeguards it adopts to protect your interests, including your investing interests as well as your data security interests.

  6. Understand the risks

    Understand the risks associated with P2P lending and carefully assess whether your personal circumstances allow you to take on the risks involved.

  7. Make informed investment decisions

    Be reminded that making uninformed investment decisions based on unverified information is highly risky and may lead to a total loss of your investments. You should not invest in any financial products or activities that you do not know or understand. You should seek professional advice if in doubt.

 

Note

Reference has been made to two IOSCO papers:

Skip to main content

點對點網絡貸款(P2P網貸)是一種小型融資活動,讓擁有資金的投資者及有意借入資金的人經網上平台進行配對。市場上有不同種類的P2P網貸,例如商業貸款及消費者貸款 (包括學生貸款)。

P2P網貸如何運作?

P2P網貸一般以服務營運商作為中間人,經網上平台或流動應用程式,配對投資者(即貸方)與尋找資金的借款人。相對於傳統的實體金融機構,由於P2P網貸一般利用科技減省成本支出,所以能夠以較低的借貸息差運作。

借款人可以透過P2P網貸平台申請貸款。一般而言,P2P網貸平台會訂立貸款條款,例如利率及還款條款,亦會向借款人進行信貸調查。投資者通過P2P網貸平台向借款人提供貸款,當籌集資金達標,P2P網貸平台便會把有關貸款發放予借款人。此後,P2P網貸平台亦會提供其他相關服務,例如處理貸款的還款和利息、逾期還款等。P2P網貸平台一般以賺取借貸息差,及/或向借貸雙方收取服務費作為收入來源。

舉例來說,某借款人向P2P網貸平台提交申請,希望借30,000元,為期一年,以清還信用卡結欠;而另一借款人則想申請一筆為期兩年的50,000元貸款來買車。投資者可以在網上審視不同的貸款申請,然後選擇自己有意出資的貸款。

P2P網貸涉及的風險 (註)

雖然於P2P網貸作出投資可能獲得相對較高的回報(例如高於銀行存款),但所涉及的風險亦較大。投資者甚至可能損失全部投資金額。主要風險包括:

  • 違責風險

    投資者於P2P網貸投資,須面對借款人未能按時償還貸款本金及利息的風險。借款人亦有可能違責或無力償還貸款,導致投資者損失全部投資款項。

  • 信貸風險

    借款人的信貸質素是投資P2P網貸的重要考慮因素之一。P2P網貸平台所進行的信貸調查,未必如具規模信貸機構的信貸調查般嚴謹及規範。如果投資者過份依賴P2P網貸平台的信貸調查,可能會帶來風險。此外,P2P網貸平台對借款人的信貸要求可能較低。那些無法透過傳統銀行獲得貸款而信貸風險較高的人,很多時會轉投P2P網貸平台申請貸款。

  • 流通性風險/缺乏二手市場

    有些P2P網貸平台容許投資者在貸款到期前把貸款出售,但成功與否視乎其他投資者對該貸款的興趣。如果借款人出現任何問題,例如有經常性延遲還款紀錄或出現有關信貸的負面消息,投資者可能難以出售該筆貸款。有些P2P網貸平台禁止出售有問題的貸款,以保障其他投資者。

  • 無牌進行受規管活動

    有些P2P網貸平台聲稱只提供貸款及資訊服務,所以並不涉及受規管活動。但是,證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)可能有不同看法,並且認為相關P2P網貸活動可能觸及《證券及期貨條例》的牌照要求。根據《證券及期貨條例》,平台/平台營運商無牌進行《證券及期貨條例》下的受規管活動屬違法行為。詳情請見"P2P網貸在香港的規管"一節。

  • 資訊披露風險

    相比上市的證券,P2P網貸平台的貸款項目資料可能沒有劃一標準及有欠詳細,使投資者難以了解相關風險。例如,平台上有關如何進行借款人背景盡職審查、信貸風險系統原理的資料有限,或缺乏清晰及可比較的貸款組合違責率等資料。投資者可能無法從P2P網貸平台掌握借款人的全面資料 (有時甚至是已作出投資後),而有關資料亦可能沒有經過妥善的核實。

  • 平台倒閉、欺詐或舞弊的風險

    近年,有些P2P網貸平台出現欺詐、倒閉及停止運作等情況,令投資者蒙受損失。

  • 跨境風險

    有些平台已開展跨境借貸活動。如借款人或平台出現欺詐、違約或倒閉等情況,一般難以界定投資者應根據何處的法例追溯權益。即使平台在海外地區獲發牌照,但假如出現任何問題,投資者亦可能難以行使權利及保障自己。

  • 網絡安全

    網絡襲擊的形式多不勝數,例如黑客入侵、使P2P網貸平台的基建設施超出負荷、混淆帳戶、盜用身分及/或竊取個人資料。

  • 違法活動

    有些P2P網貸平台/平台使用者可能涉及違法活動,例如詐騙、洗錢或其他違法的商業活動,或會導致相關的執法機關採取監管行動,包括暫停有關平台的運作。

P2P網貸在香港的規管

"證券"一詞在《證券及期貨條例》下的定義範圍廣泛。"證券"不單止包括公司股份,亦包含公司的債權及集體投資計劃的權益。因此,視乎P2P網貸平台的營運模式,其活動可能構成《證券及期貨條例》下的證券交易或就證券提供意見等受規管活動。在這情況下,P2P網貸平台/平台營運商可能需持有《證券及期貨條例》下的牌照,才可以進行有關活動。

此外,視乎P2P網貸的個別結構及特點,平台提供的投資項目可能受《證券及期貨條例》有關投資要約的法規所規管。

考慮到P2P網貸所涉及的風險,證監會可能認為部分P2P網貸平台不適合散戶投資者參與,以及可能只審批那些附帶“僅供專業投資者參與”條件的P2P網貸平台作出的牌照申請。

另外,其他香港法律和法規亦可能同時適用,例如P2P網貸平台或平台營運商可能須向公司註冊處申請放債人牌照

投資者須知

如果你是投資者,並有興趣參與P2P網貸活動,你必須留意以下幾點﹕

  1. 是本地,還是海外跨境平台?

    了解P2P網貸平台的註冊及營運所在地。如果平台在香港以外地區運作,一旦遇上欺詐、違約或倒閉的情況,香港投資者在追討權益時將會面對額外的跨境問題。

  2. 是否持有牌照?

    如果P2P網貸平台聲稱獲證監會發牌,你可以在證監會網站的公眾紀錄冊查核其牌照狀況。投資者須留意,只有正式領有牌照的平台才受證監會、《證券及期貨條例》及其他由證監會執行的法規所規管。

    此外,若P2P網貸平台聲稱持有放債人牌照,你可以在公司註冊處的網上查冊中心查核其牌照情況。

  3. 投資者限制

    了解投資者的限制。有些平台可能只限專業投資者參與投資和使用服務(例如基於法律限制或牌照條件的原因)。

  4. 參閱條款及細則

    仔細閱讀平台的條款及細則、平台要求你簽署的任何文件及私隱豁免條文等。

  5. 了解保障措施

    了解平台如何運作,及平台為了保障投資者權益(包括你的投資及個人資料的安全)而採取的措施。

  6. 了解相關風險

    了解P2P網貸的相關風險,並小心考慮自己的個人情況,衡量是否可以承受有關風險。

  7. 作審慎的投資決定

    請緊記,基於未經核實的資料,並在沒有掌握充分資料的情況下作出投資決定,會涉及很高的風險,並可能令你損失全部投資。你不應投資任何你不認識或不理解的金融產品或活動。如有任何疑問,應尋求專業意見。

 

有關資料參考自兩份國際證券事務監察委員會組織(IOSCO)發出的報告: