Skip to main content

Hong Kong's Mandatory Provident Funds (MPF) scheme has been introduced for more than 15 years, but many people do not pay close attention to their MPF investment. This is unwise because a well-managed MPF can help you accumulate a good sum of money for your retirement.

Why be wise with your MPF?

Importance of MPF management on your return

Let's say you are 25 years old, earning $15,000 per month, and have just started putting money into your MPF. If the annualised rate of return is 1%, your MPF accrued benefit will be $1.95 million when you are 65. But if the rate of return is 4%, then you will get $3.37 million. With the difference in return rate, the outcome can vary a lot over the long term due to the compound interest effect.

 Annualised rate of returnEstimated MPF accrued benefits at 65
If you are a 25-year-old earning $15,000 per month, with a 3.9% increase every year. 1% $1.95 million
4% $3.37 million

Note: According to the MPFA's Fifteen-Year Investment Performance of the MPF System Report, the annualized 15-year investment return of the MPF System was 3.1%, from December 2000 to November 2015. The inflation rate for the same period was 1.8%.

The goal of the MPF is to help you to accumulate savings for retirement. So when choosing and managing your MPF investment, do not blindly chase high returns. Be smart, consider your risk tolerance level and select the right investment mix.

What should you invest in if you are young?

Each MPF fund is different. There are steady growth low-risk funds, and higher risk funds with stronger growth potential:

Type of MPF fundsInvestment objectiveRisk levelAnnualised rate of return (December 2000 to November 2015)
Equity fund Aim to have capital appreciation and a return higher than inflation over the long term Relatively high 4.1%
Mixed assets fund Achieve capital appreciation over the long term by investing in a combination of stocks and bonds Medium to high 3.9%
Bond fund Earn a stable income from interest or bond coupon rates, and make a profit from bond trading Low to medium 2.8%
Guaranteed fund Seek a guarantee on capital invested, or get a guaranteed rate of return (subject to conditions, such as a minimum investment period and withdrawal limits) Relatively low 1.3%
MPF conservative fund Target a rate of return similar to the Hong Kong dollar savings rate Relatively low 0.8%

To choose a fund that suits your risk tolerance level and return expectation, consider these factors:

  • Investment term
    Retirement may be a long way off for young people, meaning you may have to invest for 40 years or more. During this time, it is certain the market will go up and down. It is important not to focus on short-term changes, however. The long investment term and dollar-cost averaging strategy, where your MPF contribution is made and invested on a regular basis, can help ease short-term volatilities.
  • Risk profile
    This means how much risk you are willing to take. It is decided by your personality, investment experience and investment goals, among other factors.
  • Inflation
    In Hong Kong, there has been inflation over the past few decades (except a few years of deflation). If this continues then the price of goods may have risen a lot by the time you retire. If the return of your investment is lower than the inflation rate, the purchasing power will decrease.

There is no one answer when deciding on the investment make-up of your MPF. The key is to choose a portfolio that matches your risk tolerance level. If you are young, your investment term will be longer, so you can usually take greater risk. As such, putting a larger share of your money into equity funds may help to counter the risk of inflation.

Although younger people have a higher risk tolerance level and can opt for a greater share of equity funds in their MPF, the risk is also higher. You can diversify the risk by investing in different regions or asset classes. For example, according to the MPFA's Fifteen-Year Investment Performance of the MPF System Report, global equity funds recorded substantially lower volatility than some single market equity funds (such as Hong Kong equity funds) over the 15-year period.

In the future, as you get older, you should consider gradually lowering the risk by reducing the portion of equity funds in the investment portfolio.

Smart MPF management

After choosing a suitable investment portfolio, you should prudently manage it. Keep in mind the following:

  1. Regular monitoring
    Read the annual MPF benefit statement and understand how much you have contributed and what investments have been made. Also, take into account the MPF trustee's Fund Fact Sheet, which tells you how each fund is performing.
  2. Be persistent
    The MPF is a long-term investment. You should not change your investment strategy because of short-term market changes. You should not switch funds on a short-term basis. It's impossible to predict the ups and downs of the market. You may end up buying high and selling low if you guess wrong, losing more than you earn. Besides, MPF funds, just like any other funds, are dealt on a "forward" pricing basis, ie your subscription/redemption will be based on the fund's NAV, calculated when the market closes on the day. As such, you cannot buy or sell funds at any specified prices like trading stocks. Please refer to the below recommended reading for more details.
  3. Combine your accounts
    Every time you change job, your new employer will provide you with a new MPF account. If you do not manage your MPF accounts after you changed jobs, then you will have many accounts. It would be difficult to manage and could affect your investment strategy. You can manage the MPF benefits accumulated during your previous employment in one of the following ways:
    • transfer the balance to your new account under the new employer's MPF scheme, or
    • transfer the MPF benefits to your existing personal account (if you already have such an account), or
    • if you do not have a personal account and you are satisfied with the MPF scheme chosen by your former employer, you may consider retaining your MPF benefits in that account for continued investment.
  4. Additional contributions
    The World Bank rates the MPF as a key pillar to retirement protection. MPFs help the employed save for retirement. But MPF alone may not be sufficient for a happy retirement because different people may have different expectations on retirement life and also that people are generally living longer due to better healthcare. You should think about making voluntary top-ups to your MPF, or look at other retirement investments. Consult your MPF trustee or employer for more details about voluntary MPF contributions.

Skip to main content

強積金從2000年推出至今已經有十多年的時間,但是不少人仍然不太關心自己的強積金投資。其實,強積金對你十分重要,只要妥善部署和管理,可以幫你儲蓄一筆可觀的退休儲備。

為什麼要關心自己的強積金?

管理不管理,回報大不同

假設你今年25歲,月薪$15,000,由現在開始供強積金。如果每年回報率是1%,預期65歲時累積的強積金有$1,950,000。但如果每年回報率有4%,累積金額便可增至$3,370,000。每年幾個百分點的差距,經過幾十年的滾存,因為複息效應的關係,得出來的結果可以差距很大!

 每年投資回報率預期65歲時的強積金累算權益
今年25歲,月薪$15,000,每年人工增幅3.9%。 1% $1,950,000
4% $3,370,000

註: 根據積金局「強積金制度15年投資表現回顧」報告,由2000年12月至2015年11月,強積金的年率化回報率為3.1%,同期平均每年通脹率為1.8%。

當然,強積金的目的是協助在職人士為退休生活儲蓄。我們選擇及管理強積金投資時,不應盲目追求高回報,正確的做法是小心考慮你的風險承受能力,選擇適合自己的強積金投資組合。

年青人應怎樣選擇強積金投資

每個強積金計劃均設有多隻不同的成分基金,由增長穩定的低風險基金,以至增長潛力較大的高風險基金不等﹕

基金類別 投資目標 風險程度 年化回報率(2000年12月至2015年11月)
股票基金 獲取長期資本增值,及高於通脹率的回報 較高 4.1%
混合資產基金 透過同時投資於股票及債券,爭取資本增值 中至高 3.9%
債券基金 賺取穩定的利息或票面息率收入,以及從債券買賣中取得利潤 低至中 2.8%
保證基金 提供本金保證,或保證一個預設的回報率 (須符合所附帶的保證條件,如鎖定期及提款條件) 較低 1.3%
強積金保守基金 賺取與銀行港元儲蓄存款利率相若的回報 較低 0.8%

我們可按自己的風險承受能力及投資目標,選擇適合自己的基金或基金組合。考慮因素包括﹕

  • 投資期﹕
    年青人距離退休尚有很長時間,投資期可能超過40年。期內投資市場會有升有跌,短期波幅無可避免。但因為投資期長,加上強積金每月供款的平均成本法策略,有助緩和市場周期變化及短期波動帶來的影響。
  • 風險取向﹕
    指你願意接受多少風險,通常受個人性格、投資經驗及投資目標等因素影響。
  • 通脹﹕
    在過去幾十年,香港大部分時間都有通脹。如果這情況持續,到你退休時,物價可能比現在高很多。如果投資回報率低於通脹率,購買力便會被蠶食。

基金投資組合沒有一個絕對的標準,最重要是能配合你個人承受風險能力。一般而言,年青人的投資年期較長,風險承受能力相對較高,可以考慮股票成分較高的投資組合,平衡通脹風險。

雖然年青人的風險承受能力較高,但要留意股票投資風險亦是最高的。你可以將資產分散投資於不同地區或資產類別以降低風險。以股票為例,根據積金局資料,在過去15年,環球股票基金的回報波幅,遠低於一些單一市場基金(如香港股票基金)的波幅。

而將來隨著你的年齡增加後,你應適當地考慮減低投資組合的股票比重,逐步降低投資風險。

積極管理

選擇了適合的基金投資組合後,你亦應積極管理和監察自己的強積金計劃,包括﹕

  1. 定期監察﹕
    閱讀周年權益報表,了解過去一年戶口的供款和投資概況。此外,參閱強積金受託人編製的基金便覽,了解基金表現。
  2. 持之以恆:
    強積金是長線投資,你不應因市場短期波幅隨便改變投資策略。更不要嘗試捕捉市場短期走勢而轉換基金,因為要準確預測市場起跌並不可能,一旦預測錯誤,將會變成「高買低賣」,得不償失。另外,要留意強積金基金,正如其他基金以未知價方式進行買賣,即基金的交易價格要待交易日收市後,根據基金淨資產值來釐定,因此你不能像買賣股票一樣以指定價格買賣基金單位,詳情請參閱以下推薦文章。
  3. 整合帳戶:
    每次轉工,你的新僱主會安排你加入他所選擇的強積金計劃。假如你每次轉工都沒有處理上一份工作的強積金,你便會持有多個帳戶,除了管理上的不便外,也可能會影響你的整體投資策略。你可以採用以下其中一種方法處理在舊公司工作時所累積的強積金﹕
    • 將強積金轉移至新僱主為你開立的供款帳戶;或
    • 如你在其他強積金計劃下已持有個人帳戶,把強積金轉移至該帳戶;或
    • 若你本身未持有任何個人帳戶及滿意舊公司所選用的強積金計劃,你亦可以考慮把強積金保留在舊公司的計劃中,以個人帳戶形式繼續投資。
  4. 額外供款:
    強積金是世界銀行倡議的主要退休保障支柱之一,主要目的是協助在職人士為退休生活儲蓄。但是,由於醫療科技發達,人均壽命愈來愈長,加上每個人對退休生活有不同的要求,單靠強積金未必可以完全應付你退休生活的需要。所以你應考慮額外的退休投資或強積金自願性供款,與你的強積金相輔相成,為將來退休生活作更佳準備。有關自願性供款詳情,可向強積金受託人或僱主查詢。