Skip to main content

 

What would happen if a bank called you and offered to lend you money at a very low interest rate? If applying was easy and you could have a large amount of money within minutes, would you be tempted to apply?

Banks and financial institutions make it easy for working people to take out loans. Some young people may not even need to borrow money, but are tempted by the loan advertisements. They end up borrowing money and spending it on trendy products, travel or investing on the stock market. Sometimes, they borrow the money without any plan as to how to spend it.

Used sensibly, loans can be very useful. Many people, for instance, take out a mortgage loan when buying their own home. If you borrow money without properly thinking about it, though, this could lead to problems. Some people even end up taking out more and more loans just to pay back earlier borrowing. If you fail to make the payments on these loans on time, you could end up with a poor credit record or even face bankruptcy.

Do I really need a loan?

Before taking out a loan, ask yourself these three key questions:

  1. Why do I need a loan? Is it really necessary?
    When you take out a loan, you not only have to pay back the money you borrow, you also need to pay the interest. You have to think seriously, then, before you borrow money for non-essential things, such as a new phone or a vacation. A $30,000 personal loan, with an interest rate of 15% a year, repayable over two years on a monthly basis (that mean 24 payments), would cost you $4,590 in interest payment. You might also have to pay an annual fee and admin charges. If you didn't take out the loan, you would have no interest to pay.
  2. Is there an alternative to borrowing money?
    Borrowing money is rarely the best option. There are other ways to pay for the things you really want. If you want to go on holiday to Japan, for instance, you could start saving six months earlier, putting aside money until you have enough to cover the cost.
  3. Can you repay the loan?
    Before taking out a loan, work out how much you spend every month and how much you earn. This will show you how much you have left to make a loan repayment. If you don't have spare money, you will find it hard to make repayments.

Bad credit history could affect your career

Both failing to make loan repayments and making late payments will be recorded in your credit history. This could make it difficult for you to get loans or mortgages in the future. A poor credit history will also affect your work life. Many employers in the financial, legal and law enforcement sectors will look at your credit history before deciding to offer you a job or a promotion.

Borrow responsibly

Before you take out a loan, make sure that you understand the difference between what you need and what you want. You also need to know how much money you can afford for loan repayments.

If you really think you need to borrow money, follow these guidelines:

  1. Prepare a budget, listing your monthly expenses, savings and loans in detail. Work out how much you can afford to repay each month before agreeing to any loan.
  2. Borrow only the amount you need.
  3. Borrow only from banks or financial institutions with a good reputation.
  4. Avoid borrowing money from many different banks or loan companies. Too much borrowing will give you a poor credit rating.
  5. Choose a payment term that best suits your circumstances. Repay the loan as soon as possible – the longer you take to pay it back, the more interest you pay.
  6. Compare interest rates and other costs, as well as the terms and conditions, of different lenders. Always use the Annualised Percentage Rate to compare loan costs.
  7. Read all loan contracts carefully and make sure you completely understand them before signing.
  8. Make your repayments on time. If you don't, you may have to pay extra charges.
  9. Don't borrow from companies you don't know anything about. Beware of the risks of borrowing through intermediaries. Some companies encourage people to apply for loans which may charge very high interest rate and fees. If you have doubts about a caller or a company, inform the police.
  10. Protect your personal data. Do not give out information on the phone unless you have verified the identity of the caller and 100% sure how your information will be used.

Use the Annualised Percentage Rate to compare different loans

Interest is the main cost of taking out a loan. Always make sure you understand how this will be worked out before you sign a contract. Depending on the types of loans, there are different commonly used basis on which interest is calculated in the market, eg monthly flat rate or annual rate for personal instalment loans and daily or monthly compound rate for credit card outstanding balance.

As well as interest, there may also be other fees – such as handling fees and annual charges – that you have to pay. You need to consider these fees and the interest before agreeing to a loan.

All financial institutions supervised by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority have to state the Annualised Percentage Rate (APR) of their personal loans and credit cards. This has to be calculated in a way agreed by the banking industry's associations*. The APR should include the basic interest rate, as well as all other annual fees related to a loan. All authorised institutions have to follow the same rules so that loan costs may be easily compared.

* The Hong Kong Association of Banks and The Hong Kong Association of Restricted Licence Banks and Deposit-taking Companies

Skip to main content

 

當你收到貸款推銷電話,告訴你超低利息、手續簡易、貸款額高、30分鐘批核,你會不會因此而心動?

由於銀行及財務機構大力推銷借貸,年青上班族借錢很容易,縱使可能沒有必要,但卻被廣告及推銷吸引,於是沒有考慮清楚便借錢消費,例如購買潮流產品、旅行、享受高消費服務,甚至借錢投資炒股票。

無可否認,貸款有其作用,例如物業按揭貸款有助你置業。但濫借及過度借貸會為個人財務帶來極大風險,而以債養債,後果更會十分嚴重,甚至令人陷入破產危機。

你真的有需要借錢嗎?

在考慮借貸前,應首先問問自己以下3個關鍵問題﹕

  1. 為什麼要借錢?真的有需要嗎?
    借錢要還錢,還要付利息,會增加你的每月支出。如果借錢只是用來買非必要的東西,例如換個新款電話、買Hi-Fi、去旅行等,則要仔細想清楚。例如借$30,000,年息15%,分24個月清還,利息支出達$4,590。如果不借錢的話,便可省下這筆利息支出。
  2. 除借錢外,有其他選擇嗎?
    借錢未必一定是最好的選擇,可能還有其他方法可助你達成目標而不需借貸。舉例說,你如果想去日本旅行,可以提前半年開始計劃定下預算,然後每月出糧後撥出定額作儲蓄,便可以實現願望。
  3. 你有能力還錢嗎?
    在借貸前,你可以做個收支計算表,詳列每月的收入和支出,看看自己是否有能力還款。假如你收入只是僅僅夠支付生活支出,那說明你還款能力十分有限。

不良信貸紀錄影響前途

拖欠貸款或沒有準時還款均會影響你的信貸紀錄,令你日後難以申請按揭貸款或其他有真正需要的貸款。此外,不良信貸紀錄亦會阻礙求職或晉升機會。很多與金錢、利益、執法相關的職位,都有可能要審核求職者的個人信貸紀錄,作為評核的標準,例如紀律部隊、金融監管機構、銀行、會計、律師等。故此,維持良好的信貸紀錄十分重要。

負責任的借貸

我們應該認真考慮什麼是需要的、什麼是想要的,以及在借貸前清楚了解自己的財政狀況、日常開支及實際貸款需要,評估自己的還款能力,以及避免過度借貸。債務纏身足以造成長期負擔,貸款前必須三思而後行。

如果真的需要貸款,可小心考慮以下幾點﹕

  1. 借貸前,應先編製預算表,詳列每月的支出、儲蓄和借貸,然後計算自己的還款能力。
  2. 不要過度借貸,只借你必需的金額。
  3. 只向銀行或信譽良好的財務機構申請貸款。
  4. 避免向多個信貸來源借錢,過度借貸將影響你的信用評分。
  5. 選擇切合自己財政狀況的貸款年期,在能力範圍內盡快清還結欠,切忌拖長還款期,因為貸款年期愈長,實際利息支出愈多。
  6. 比較不同銀行或財務機構的貸款利率、有關費用(例如手續費、逾期還款手續費/利息及提早還款手續費等)及條款及細則才作決定。不同種類的貸款產品有不同的利息計算方法及其他費用,你應使用「實際年利率」比較不同產品的借貸成本。
  7. 小心閱讀財務合約,確保你明白所有條款才簽署。
  8. 借貸後,緊記準時還款,以避免額外的財務費用及支出。
  9. 提高風險防範意識,有些財務或中介公司可能會用各種手法鼓勵市民申請貸款,部份或會涉及高昂利息及費用,令借款人債台高築。如收到貸款推銷電話,懷疑來電者身份虛假,應該報警求助。
  10. 小心保護個人資料,在未核實來電者身份及確定資料用途前,切勿透露個人資料。

使用「實際年利率」比較不同貸款產品

一般而言,利息是借取貸款的主要成本。所以,在決定借貸之前,你應清楚了解貸款機構以什麼方法計算利息。不同種類的貸款產品有不同的利息計算方法,市場上常見的方法包括以月平息或年息計算私人分期貸款、以每日/月複息計算信用卡結欠等。

借取貸款的成本不單只是利息,還可能包括其他費用,例如貸款手續費或年費。所以我們計算借款成本時,需一併考慮利息及其他相關費用。

在香港,受香港金融管理局管轄的認可機構需列明根據銀行業組織*發出的有關指引中所列載的方法計算的「實際年利率」。「實際年利率」是一個把貸款利息加上各種費用轉化而成的參考年利率,反映實際的借貸成本。認可機構須採用相同的準則和假設條件,按一致的基準計算「實際年利率」,有助消費者比較不同的貸款產品。

*香港銀行公會及存款公司公會