Skip to main content

"Financial adviser", "investment consultant" and "financial planning manager" are some of the job titles that are commonly used by financial practitioners including Securities and Futures Commission (SFC)'s licensees, MPF intermediaries and insurance intermediaries. How much do you know about the differences between each job title? Are your intermediaries qualified to provide the services and products that you are looking for? Also, what do you need to watch out for when these intermediaries claim that they can provide you one-stop financial services?

Take a look at the following checklist which can help you select the appropriate intermediary to address your financial needs.

1. Check whether your intermediary has obtained the appropriate licence(s) or registration(s) to provide the relevant service

In Hong Kong, financial practitioners are regulated by different regulatory bodies depending on what type of financial service they provide.

Products Regulated activities and regulatory bodies Public registers
Securities and futures
eg stocks, futures, warrants, funds, bonds, and structured investment products
Intermediaries selling and/or advising on securities or futures are required to be licenced by or registered with the SFC.

The Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) is the frontline supervisor of banks' investment services and their staff. Only those bank staff whose names are entered in the "HKMA's Register of Relevant Individuals" can engage in selling and/or advising on securities or futures.
Insurance
eg traditional life insurance, general insurance, and investment-linked assurance schemes (ILAS)
Intermediaries, who sell or advise on insurance products, are subject to a self-regulatory regime under the Insurance Companies Ordinance. The Insurance Authority (IA) regulates insurance intermediaries through overseeing the self-regulatory bodies which represent different sectors of the insurance industry.

The HKMA, as the frontline supervisor of banks' insurance intermediary activities, monitors whether banks and their staff comply with the conduct requirements applicable to them.
MPF products Intermediaries, who sell or advise on MPF products, are regulated under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance. They are required to be registered with the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority.

MPF intermediaries of the banking, insurance and securities sectors are subject to supervision of the HKMA, the Office of the Commissioner of Insurance or the SFC respectively, which are the relevant frontline regulators of MPF intermediaries.
Public Register of MPF intermediaries

No single licence or registration can enable a financial intermediary to conduct all types of financial services. For example, if your insurance intermediary would like to sell/advise you on a fund, please verify if he/she is licenced by the SFC.

2. Ask questions about your intermediary

Professional services from an experienced and qualified financial intermediary may help you manage your money better. Apart from ascertaining the type of licence/registration your intermediary has obtained, you may also ask the following questions which will help you assess the suitability of their proposals:

  • What is your approach to financial/investment planning?
  • What experience and qualifications do you have for a specific product?
  • Will you offer ongoing service?
  • What kind of fees do you charge? How much?
  • How much commission do you receive for selling the product? Whether the commission is from the product provider or from the client?

Some intermediaries may have professional qualifications. For instance, the CERTIFIED FINANCIAL PLANNERCM or CFPCM designation is an international professional certification mark for financial planners. To be authorised to use the designation, the candidate must meet initial education, examination, experience and ethics requirements, as well as continuing professional development. Whether or not your intermediary has such qualifications, he/she is required to obtain the relevant licence or registration from relevant regulatory bodies before he/she can provide the services set out in the table above.

3. Understand the benefits that the intermediary will receive from selling the product

Although you may pay nothing directly to the intermediary who sells/distributes the products to you, the intermediary will receive benefits from selling the products to you.

Intermediaries selling/advising on investment products have to disclose (as per the requirement of the SFC) the benefits they receive from the product issuer from selling the product to you.

In the case of selling ILAS products, the latest enhanced regulatory changes introduced by the IA require intermediaries to inform you (i) the amount of remuneration the agent/broker firm/bank (as applicable) will on average receive per $100 of the premium that you pay, and (ii) your right to ask for details of the intermediaries’ remuneration, for selling the ILAS product.

Understanding the benefits information can help you assess whether this would affect the intermediaries' recommendation on the products concerned.

4. Check your intermediary’s knowledge

Before recommending a product, the intermediary must have a thorough understanding of the product such as its nature, features and risks. He/she should also consider whether an investment product is suitable to you in terms of your investment circumstances, such as objective, horizon and experience, financial situation as well as your risk profile, or whether an insurance product is suitable to your circumstances such as needs and resources.

Make sure your intermediary clearly explain the features and risks of the products and provide relevant materials (eg offering document, product key facts statements and other relevant documents) to help you make informed decisions. Fees and charges are always an important factor to consider. Don’t forget to check all the fees and charges from your intermediary, including upfront fees, those fees charged on an ongoing basis, and potential fees upon exit (if any).

5. Understand the licence(s) and scope of business of the intermediary’s employer or principal

Apart from checking your intermediaries’ backgrounds, it is essential to also check the company that your intermediary is representing or working for. Conduct research, for example, in the case of securities and futures, by checking the SFC's Public Register of Licenced Persons and Registered Institutions or corporate websites of the intermediary’s employer to understand the type of licence(s) it is holding, and its scope of business.

Some people may have the misconception that a stock broker licenced with the SFC (Type 1 licence - dealing in securities) is equivalent to a participant or trading right holder of the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong (SEHK). This is not the case because the SFC licence is different from the trading right at SEHK. Also, some licences may be subject to conditions, eg acting as an introducing agent only, cannot hold clients’ assets, etc. You can look at the licensing conditions of your stock broker firm to understand its scope of licenced activities.

To check if a firm is a SEHK participant, you can visit the website of Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited. If the broker firm is not a SEHK participant, you may check with the firm which SEHK participant(s) that your orders will be traded through.

Skip to main content

「理財顧問」、「投資顧問」和「理財策劃經理」等都是金融中介人(包括證監會持牌人、強積金中介人及保險中介人)常用的職銜。你是否知道這些職銜有何分別?你的中介人是否具備相關資格為你提供所需的服務?對於那些聲稱可提供一站式服務的中介人,你須要留意什麼呢?

以下要點可助你揀選符合自己理財需要的中介人。

1. 查核中介人是否持有合適牌照或註冊資格以提供相關服務

在香港,金融中介人受不同的監管機構規管其所提供的不同金融産品和服務。

產品 受規管活動及監管機構 網上紀錄冊
證券及期貨
例如股票、期貨、權證、基金、債券及結構性投資產品
銷售證券或期貨及/或就此提供意見的中介人,必須持有證券及期貨事務監察委員會(證監會)發出的相關牌照或註冊資格。

香港金融管理局(金管局)是銀行的投資服務及其職員的前線監管機構。只有在「金管局認可機構證券業務員工紀錄冊」上有登記的銀行職員才可以就證券或期貨合約提供意見或進行交易。
保險產品
例如傳統人壽保險、一般保險及
投資相連壽險計劃
銷售保險產品或就其提供意見的中介人是受保險中介人的自律規管制度規管。保險業監管局聯同代表業內不同界別的自律規管機構,負責監管及監察保險中介人。

金管局是銀行保險中介業務的前線監管機構,負責監督銀行及其職員遵從相關的營運守則。
強積金產品 銷售強積金產品或就其提供意見的中介人受強制性公積金計劃條例規管。他們必須向積金局註冊成為強積金中介人,才能從事強積金銷售及推銷活動。

金管局、保險業監管局以及證監會則擔任前線監督的角色,分別負責監察及規管銀行業、保險業及證券業的強積金中介人。
強積金中介人紀錄冊

沒有任何一個單一牌照或註冊資格可以讓中介人提供/銷售所有類別的金融服務和產品。例如若你的保險中介人向你銷售基金或提供有關基金的意見,你便應查核對方是否持有證監會發出的相關牌照。

2. 向中介人提問

經驗豐富及擁有適當資歷的專業中介人可以幫助客戶妥善理財。在選擇金融中介人或理財顧問時,除了查核對方是否持有提供相關服務的牌照或註冊資格外,你可以向中介人提出以下問題,以衡量其建議是否符合你的需要:

  • 中介人會採用什麼方式為客戶進行理財或投資規劃?
  • 中介人對所推介的產品有何經驗及資歷?
  • 是否提供售後服務?
  • 有關服務/產品如何收費? 收費多少?
  • 透過銷售所推介的產品,中介人將獲得多少佣金?佣金是由產品供應商還是由客戶支付?

部分中介人可能持有專業資格,例如CFPCM認可財務策劃師是財務策劃師的國際專業資格認證。要獲授權使用此稱號,財務策劃師必須通過相關考試,並符合教育程度、行業經驗及操守要求,以及持續專業發展的規定。無論中介人是否持有專業資格,他們都必須持有合適的牌照或註冊資格,才可以提供相關的服務。

3. 了解中介人透過銷售產品所獲得的利益

銷售產品的中介人雖然未必會直接向你收取服務費用,但他們會透過銷售產品獲得利益。

按證監會的規定,銷售投資產品的中介人須披露透過銷售產品而從產品發行商獲得的利益。

投資相連壽險方面,根據保險業監管局的最新要求,銷售投資相連壽險的中介人須向客戶披露(一)以100元保費計算,中介人平均所獲得的酬勞;及(二)客戶有權查詢中介人酬勞的資料。

了解中介人所獲得的利益可助你評估有關因素會否影響中介人向你提供的產品建議。

4. 中介人需具備產品知識

在推介任何產品前,中介人必須對該產品有全面透徹的了解,當中包括其性質及風險。就投資產品而言,中介人應按照你的投資目標、年期、經驗、財務狀況及風險承受能力等因素建議合適的產品。如果是保險的話,中介人須考慮有關產品是否符合你的需要和財務狀況等。

確保中介人清楚地向你解釋產品特色及風險,以及提供相關的資料(例如銷售文件、產品資料概要及其他相關文件),讓你考慮及作出合適的決定。此外,購買產品的相關費用及收費是重要考慮因素之一。緊記向中介人查詢所有收費詳情,包括前期費用、持續收費及贖回或停止計劃的費用(如有)。

5. 了解中介公司的業務範圍及持牌狀況

除了中介人的資料外,你亦須了解他們所代表公司的業務範圍及持牌狀況。你可以做一些資料搜集,例如透過證監會持牌人及註冊機構紀錄冊(如果與證券或期貨相關)或該中介公司網站,了解該公司的相關資料。

有些人可能誤以為持有證監會證券交易牌照(即1號牌照)的股票經紀行便等同於香港聯合交易所參與者或交易權持有人,但其實這兩者並不等同。此外,有些牌照可能附帶條件以規限業務範圍,例如有些牌照規限經紀行只可作為介紹代理人及不得持有客戶資產。你可查看中介公司的牌照條件,以了解其持牌業務範圍。

如欲了解公司是否聯交所參與者,你可瀏覽香港交易及結算所有限公司網站。如果有關經紀行並非聯交所參與者,你可向該公司查詢買賣交易指令是經由那家聯交所參與者執行。