Skip to main content

There are a number of risks associated with the ETFs that investors should be aware of when considering to invest. These risks include (but not limited to) the following:

Market risks - An ETF is exposed to the economic, political, currency, legal and other risks of a specific sector or market related to the index and the market that it is tracking.

Trading at a discount or premium to NAV - Since the trading price of an ETF is typically determined by the supply and demand of the market, the ETF may trade at a price higher or lower than its NAV. Also, where the reference index that a passive ETF tracks has restricted access, units in the passive ETF may not be created or redeemed freely and efficiently.

The supply and demand imbalance can only be addressed by creating and redeeming additional units. So, disruption to the creation or redemption of units may result in the ETF trading at a higher premium or discount to its NAV than may normally be the case for a traditional ETF with no such restriction.

Risks relating to ETF termination – An ETF, like any fund, may be terminated early under certain circumstances, for example, where the index is no longer available for benchmarking or if the size of the ETF falls below a pre-determined NAV threshold as set out in the constitutive documents and offering documents. Investors should refer to the section in the offering document relating to termination for further details.

Investors should also note that the market-making activities and trading of ETF units may be adversely affected in the secondary market once the termination of the ETF is announced. As a result, the trading price of such ETF units may become very volatile resulting in substantial losses to investors.

Furthermore, the NAV of an ETF may drop substantially once the expenses and costs of the termination is set aside upon announcement of the termination. Investors may suffer a substantial loss as a result of these expenses and costs associated with the termination.

For ETF that has provided for any potential tax liabilities, an investor may not be able to get any refund or further distribution from the tax provision upon termination of the ETF.

In the event the ETF is terminated, investors may not be able to recover their investments.

Liquidity risk - Listing or trading on the SEHK does not in and of itself guarantee that a liquid market exists for an ETF. Besides, a higher liquidity risk is involved if an ETF uses financial derivative instruments, including structured notes and swaps, which are not actively traded in the secondary market and whose price transparency is not as easily accessible as physical securities. This may result in a bigger bid and offer spread. These financial derivative instruments also are susceptible to more price fluctuations and higher volatility. Hence, they can be more difficult and costly to unwind early, especially when the instruments provide access to a restricted market where liquidity is limited in the first place.

Tax and other risks - Like all investments, an ETF may be subject to tax imposed by the local authorities in the market that it invests or tracks, emerging market risks and risks in relation to the change of policy of the reference market.

Risks relating to Mainland capital gains tax liability - There are risks and uncertainties concerning the application of the Mainland capital gains tax ("CGT") regime on investments by foreign investors (including non-Mainland domiciled investment funds, QFIIs and RQFIIs) in Mainland securities, and such tax is not currently enforced or subject to temporary exemptions.  

It is a matter of professional and commercial judgement on the part of each fund manager, acting in the best interest of investors after taking professional tax advice, to consider and decide whether to make provision (and if so, the extent and provisioning policy) for the ETF’s potential CGT liability or to change the ETF’s existing CGT provisioning policy from time to time.

Depending on the tax advice obtained and other relevant factors, each ETF’s tax provisioning policy may be different. There may be ETFs without making any CGT provision at all. Even if an ETF makes CGT provision, such provision may be excessive or inadequate. The Mainland tax rules and policies are subject to changes. There are risks that CGT may be enforced by the Mainland tax authorities and that such enforcement may be on a retrospective basis. If and when CGT is collected by the Mainland tax authorities, any shortfall between the provisions (if any) and actual tax liabilities will have to be paid out of the ETF's assets and could have a material adverse impact on the ETF's net asset value (NAV), whereby causing significant losses to investors.

Enforcement of the CGT by Mainland tax authorities and/or change in tax provisioning policy by a fund manager will impact investors remaining in the ETF. Investors who have sold/redeemed their interests prior to such enforcement and/or change will not be impacted. Likewise, such investors will not benefit from any release of tax provisions back into the ETF. Investors may be advantaged or disadvantaged depending upon whether and how the CGT will ultimately be taxed and when the investors invest in the ETF.

Investors should carefully read the CGT provisioning policy of an ETF (which may have substantial exposure to Mainland securities whether through Mainland cross-border investment channels (e.g. RQFII, QFII, Stock Connect, Bond Connect, China Interbank Bond Market, etc) or other Mainland market access derivative products) and the associated risks as disclosed in the offering documents before investing in the ETF. If in doubt, they should consult their professional advisors.

Passive investments risk - Passive ETF is not "actively managed" and therefore, when there is a decline in the underlying index, the passive ETF that tracks the index will also decrease in value. The passive ETF Manager will not take defensive positions in declining markets, investors may lose a significant part of their respective investments if the underlying Index falls.

Credit/Counterparty risk - Synthetic passive ETFs typically invest in over-the-counter derivatives issued by counterparties to track an index's performance. Such a synthetic passive ETF may suffer losses potentially equal to the full value of the derivatives issued by the counterparty upon its default.

Synthetic passive ETFs are therefore exposed to both the risks of the securities that constitute the index as well as the credit risk of the counterparty that issues the financial derivative instruments for replicating the performance of the index.

Some synthetic passive ETFs invest in financial derivatives issued by a number of different counterparties in order to diversify the counterparty credit risk concentration. However, the more counterparties a passive ETF has, the higher the probability of the passive ETF being affected by a counterparty default. If any one of the counterparties fails, the passive ETF may suffer losses.

You should also be aware that the issuers of these derivatives are predominantly international financial institutions and this, in itself, may pose a concentration risk. It is possible that the failure of one derivative counterparty of a passive ETF has a "knock-on" effect on other derivative counterparties of the passive ETF. As a result, a passive ETF could suffer a loss substantially more than its expected exposure in the event of a single counterparty default.

Investors should note in case where collateral is provided by counterparties to a synthetic passive ETF, the collateral may concentrate on particular market(s), sector(s) and/ or securities issued by specific sovereign or public issuer(s) which may not be related to the underlying index.

Furthermore, even if a synthetic passive ETF is fully collateralised, when the passive ETF seeks to exercise its right against the collateral, the market value of the collateral could be substantially less than the amount secured if the market dropped sharply before the collateral is realised, thereby resulting in significant loss to the passive ETF.

Tracking error - This refers to the disparity between the performance of the passive ETF (as measured by its NAV) and the performance of the underlying index. Tracking error may arise due to various factors. These include, failure of the passive ETF's tracking strategy, the impact of fees and expenses, foreign exchange differences between the base currency or trading currency of a passive ETF and the currencies of the underlying investments, or corporate actions such as rights and bonus issues by the issuers of the passive ETF's underlying securities.

Depending on its particular strategy, a passive ETF may not hold all the constituent securities of an underlying index in the same weightings as the constituent securities of the index. Therefore, the performance of the securities underlying the passive ETF as measured by its NAV may outperform

Early Unwinding of Derivatives Risk - Synthetic passive ETFs typically invest in derivatives to track an index’s performance. The costs associated with the unwinding of these derivatives before maturity may vary depending on prevailing market conditions. Such costs may be significant, particularly during times of high market volatility.

Hence, in the event of redemption or if the synthetic passive ETF is terminated (for example, due to the reason that the fund size becomes too small), the proceeds payable to investors may be significantly less than the net asset value of the fund units as a result of the cost associated with unwinding of the derivatives before maturity. This may lead to substantial loss to investors.

Skip to main content

投資者於考慮投資ETF時,要留意該產品所涉及的若干相關風險; 這些風險包括(但不限於)以下方面﹕

市場風險 - ETF需要面對與所跟蹤或投資市場或指定行業相關的經濟、政治、貨幣、法律和其他風險。

交易價高於或低於資產淨值 - 由於ETF 的買賣價通常取決於市場供求,有可能以高於或低於其資產淨值的價格買賣。此外,若被動型ETF 所跟蹤的參考指數設有參與限制,增設或贖回被動型ETF 單位的程序或無法自由及有效率地進行。

由於供求失衡只可能靠增設或贖回額外單位來解決,因此如ETF在增設或贖回單位方面出現困難,或會導致買賣此類ETF時的溢價或折讓,較沒有上述限制的傳統ETF為高。

與ETF終止運作相關的風險  - ETF與其他基金一樣,會在若干情況下提前終止運作,例如用作為基準的的有關指數不再存在,或ETF的規模小於基金組成文件及基金銷售文件內載列的預設資產淨值限額。投資者應參閱基金銷售文件內有關終止運作的部分,以了解詳情。

投資者應留意,一旦ETF宣布終止運作,屆時將會對第二市場內的莊家活動及ETF單位買賣造成負面影響。因此,有關ETF單位的買賣價可能非常波動,令投資者蒙受重大損失。

此外,當公布ETF終止運作後,將會預留終止運作的開支及費用,或會令ETF的資產淨值大幅下跌。有關終止運作的開支及費用可能令投資者蒙受重大損失。

如ETF已就潛在稅務負債撥備,當其終止運作時,投資者可能無法取得退款或稅項撥備的其他分派。

若ETF終止運作,投資者可能無法取回投資款項。

流通風險 - 雖然在聯交所上市或買賣,但這並不保證ETF具有流通的市場。此外,若ETF使用結構性票據及掉期等金融衍生工具,而這些工具在第二市場的買賣並不活躍,價格的透明度又不及實物證券,則基金的流通風險會更高。這可能導致較大的買賣差價。此外,這些金融衍生工具的價格也較易波動,波幅也較高。因此,要提早解除這些工具的合約就比較困難,成本也較高,尤其若市場有買賣限制,流通量也有限,解除合約便更加困難。

稅務及其他風險 - 正如所有投資,ETF會面對由所投資和跟蹤相關市場的地方當局所設置的稅項。此外,ETF亦須面對新興市場風險,以及所跟蹤市場的政策變動所涉及的風險。

與內地資本增值稅相關的風險 - 海外投資者(包括並非於中國內地註冊成立的投資基金、合格境外機構投資者(QFII)及人民幣合格境外機構投資者(RQFII)) 投資於內地證券,要面對有關內地資本增值稅的風險和變數。內地當局目前並未徵收此等稅項,或作出臨時豁免。

基金經理會按其專業及商業判斷,在以投資者最大利益為前題下及獲得的專業稅務意見後,不時考慮及決定是否就交易所買賣基金(ETF)的潛在資本增值稅作出撥備(若然作出撥備,有關撥備的水平和政策)或調整該ETF現行的資本增值稅撥備政策。

每隻ETF的稅項撥備政策或有不同,視乎其所獲得的專業稅務意見及其他相關因素而定。有些ETF可能不作任何資本增值稅撥備。即使ETF已作資本增值稅撥備,其撥備水平可能會過多或不足。內地的稅務法規及政策或會出現變更,投資者須留意內地稅務當局或會徵收資本增值稅,以及追溯徵收稅項的風險。倘內地稅務當局開始徵收資本增值稅,撥備(如有)與實際稅務責任之間的差額會從ETF的資產支付,並可能對有關ETF的資產淨值產生重大負面影響,因而令投資者蒙受重大損失。

仍然持有有關ETF的投資者會因內地稅務當局執行徵稅及/或基金經理調整稅務撥備政策而受到影響。如果投資者在執行徵稅和/或改變撥備政策之前已賣出/贖回其在ETF的權益,其回報則不會受到影響,但該等投資者亦不會受惠於ETF稅務撥備的回撥。資本增值稅對投資者是有利抑或有弊,視乎該稅項有沒有及如何被徵收以及投資者何時投資於有關的ETF。

投資者買入ETF(而該ETF可能透過內地跨境投資渠道(例如RQFII、QFII、滬港通及深港通、債券通及中國銀行間債券市場等)或其他內地市場連接衍生產品大量投資於內地證券)之前,應詳閱基金銷售文件內披露的資本增值稅撥備政策及相關風險。如有疑問,應諮詢專業顧問。

被動投資風險 - 被動型ETF並非「主動地管理」,因此當相關指數下跌,跟蹤該指數的被動型ETF的價值亦會應聲下跌。被動型ETF的基金經理不會於跌市中部署防禦性倉位,所以投資者可能會於相關指數下跌時損失其大部分投資。

信貸/交易對手風險 - 合成被動型ETF 通常會投資於由交易對手發行的場外衍生工具,以跟蹤相關指數的表現。這類合成被動型ETF 或會因交易對手違責而蒙受損失,虧損金額可高達衍生工具的全部價值。

因此,合成被動型ETF除了要承受相關指數成份證券所涉及的風險外,還要為了模擬指數的表現,而要承受發行這些衍生工具的交易對手的信貸風險。

部分合成被動型ETF會從多個不同的交易對手買入金融衍生工具,以分散交易對手的信貸風險。不過,被動型ETF 的交易對手愈多,其受到交易對手違責所影響的可能性就愈高。只要任何一個交易對手違責,有關的被動型ETF 便可能會蒙受損失。

你亦須注意,由於這些衍生工具的發行人絕大多數是大型國際金融機構,此舉本身亦可能構成集中風險。被動型ETF 其中一家衍生工具交易對手一旦倒閉,可能會對該被動型ETF 的其他衍生工具交易對手造成連鎖效應。結果,被動型ETF所承擔的虧損,或會遠高於預期其中一家交易對手違責時要承擔的虧損。

投資者應注意,合成被動型ETF的交易對手方若有提供抵押品,有關抵押品的投資或會集中於特定市場、行業及/或個別主權國或公共機構發行的證券,但未必與所跟蹤的指數有關。

此外,即使合成被動型ETF的抵押品水平已達致交易對手風險總額的100%,但當有關被動型ETF 打算行使對抵押品的權利時,如市況在抵押品變現前大幅下跌,抵押品的市值便可能會遠低於原先提供的擔保價值,故被動型ETF會蒙受重大損失。

模擬誤差 - 這是被動型ETF的表現(以資產淨值量度)與相關指數的表現不一致。出現模擬誤差的原因有很多,包括被動型ETF的跟蹤策略失效、受基金須支付的費用及支出的影響、被動型ETF的計價貨幣或交易貨幣與相關投資所用的貨幣之間的匯率差價,又或被動型ETF所持證券的發行公司進行企業活動,例如供股,派發紅股等。

視乎被動型ETF所採取的策略,被動型ETF未必按相關指數相同的比例持有所有成分股。因此被動型ETF所持證券的表現(以資產淨值量度),可能優於或落後於有關指數。

衍生工具提早平倉的風險 - 合成被動型ETF一般透過投資於衍生工具來跟蹤指數的表現。如果在衍生工具未到期前提早平倉,平倉的成本可能會因應當時市場情況而有所不同。有關成本可能會十分高,特別是在市場大幅波動的時候。

所以,若投資者贖回基金單位,或合成被動型ETF終止運作 (例如當基金規模下跌至很低水平),退回給投資者的金額可能由於衍生工具在未到期前提早平倉的成本,而大幅低於基金的資產淨值,可能令投資者蒙受重大損失。