Skip to main content

There is a wide variety of investment products available in Hong Kong, ranging from simple products to complex ones. A complex product is an investment product whose terms, features and risks may not be easily or readily understood by a typical retail investor because of its complex structure.

In the traditional offline sales environment, investors are usually introduced to a limited number of investment products by the intermediaries. Complex products generally tend to be sold with intermediaries providing advice. According to SFC regulatory requirements, if a licensed or registered person solicits the sale of or recommends any financial product to a client, the licensed or registered person should ensure that the financial product is suitable for the client in all the circumstances, with consideration of the client’s financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives. In this regard, therefore, investors buying complex products are likely to be protected by the suitability requirement during the offline sales process.

However, with the proliferation of online investment platforms in the market, investors can now access and transact on a broad range of investment products (including complex ones) in a self-directed manner. Typically, investors investing through an online platform would not need to contact any sales staff or investment advisor, and can simply select a product based on the information and materials posted on the platform. As complex products are generally more difficult to understand, some investors may end up buying unsuitable complex products without the benefit of proper guidance and advice as they would in the offline environment from interactive communications with a sales staff or investment advisor.

To enhance investor protection, effective from 6 July 2019, suitability requirements are extended to the sale of complex products (except derivative products traded on an exchange – see Note) in the case where intermediaries receive a request from you, as an investor, or you place an order in a self-directed manner. This applies to both the online and offline sales environments. Intermediaries are required to assess whether you, as an investor, are suited to invest in the complex product. They must also provide you with the major product information (e.g. key terms and features of the complex product) and warning statements about the product, in particular a warning that the product is a complex product and that you should exercise caution in relation to the product.

You should read the relevant product information carefully and pay attention to the warning statements before making any investment decisions.

 

Examples of complex products that are subject to additional protective measures

  • Complex bonds (e.g. perpetual or subordinated bonds, or those with variable or deferred interest payment terms, extendable maturity dates, or those which are convertible or exchangeable or have contingent write down or loss absorption features, or those with multiple credit support providers and structures) and/or bonds comprising one or more special features
  • SFC-authorized derivative funds
  • SFC-authorized hedge funds
  • SFC-authorized unlisted structured investment products (including equity-linked deposits, equity-linked instruments/investments, etc.)
  • Other non-exchange-traded structured investment products
  • Security tokens

 

Examples of complex products traded on an exchange that are NOT subject to additional protective measures (see Note)

  • Futures contracts traded on the Hong Kong Futures Exchange
  • Equity derivatives traded on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong (e.g. DWs, CBBCs and listed share options)
  • Synthetic ETFs and futures-based ETFs authorized by the SFC and traded on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong
  • L&I products authorized by the SFC and traded on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong

Complex products = high risk?

Complex products vary in complexities and risks. As such, being a complex product does not necessarily mean that it is also of high risk. For example, it is common for bond funds to use derivatives to a substantial extent for different reasons, such as gaining exposure to certain restricted markets for geographical exposure in respect of a global bond fund. On the other hand, many simple (i.e. easy to understand) products, such as high yield non-complex bonds,   can also be risky.

The complexity of a product can be due to a number of factors (e.g. the use of derivatives, lack of a liquid secondary market and lack of adequate and transparent information of the product available), hence making it difficult for typical retail investors to understand the product, irrespective of its risk level. Thus, the additional protective measures require intermediaries to ensure that a complex product is indeed suitable for the client when they receive a request from the client or the client places an order in a self-directed manner.

Investors should take investment responsibility even for simple products

Simple products are those that typical retail investors can reasonably be expected to understand their terms, features and risks. You should be aware that simple products are not necessarily less risky; in fact, many such products (e.g. high yield non-complex bonds) can be risky. Intermediaries are not required to perform suitability assessments for simple products when clients make their purchases in a self-directed manner. Investors should not overlook or underestimate the risks of investing in them and should take responsibility for their own investment decisions.

Make informed investment decisions

As a rule of thumb, whether you are considering purchasing simple or complex products in a self-directed manner or upon the solicitation or recommendation of an intermediary, you should always conduct your own research, understand the product features and risks, exercise due caution to assess and select products that suit your investment objectives and risk tolerance level. If in doubt, you should seek professional advice.

 

Suitability clause in the client agreement

Apart from the aforesaid SFC’s suitability requirements, there is a suitability clause in the client agreement which requires intermediaries to ensure product suitability if the intermediary solicits the sale of or recommends any financial product to the client. However, such clause in the client agreement will not apply if there is no solicitation or recommendation involved. This effectively means that the suitability clause cannot assist an investor if he/she purchases any financial products in a self-directed manner, including complex products.

 

Note: Complex products which are also derivative products traded on an exchange in Hong Kong or in a specified jurisdiction are not subject to the additional protective measures. This is because exchange-traded derivative products generally have standardized features and there are other existing requirements that apply to the sale of exchange traded derivative products. Click here for the list of specified jurisdictions for exchange-traded products.

 

4 July 2019

Skip to main content

市面上的投資產品五花八門,有簡單的,也有複雜的。複雜產品是指由於其結構複雜,令一般零售投資者難以理解其條款、特點及風險的投資產品。

在傳統非網上的銷售環境下,中介人通常只會為投資者介紹有限數目的投資產品。而且,一般來說,複雜產品是在中介人提供建議的情況下向投資者銷售。根據證監會的規定,持牌人或註冊人向客戶招攬銷售或建議任何金融產品時,應確保其向該客戶作出的建議或招攬行為,在所有情況下都是合適的,包括需要考慮客戶的財政狀況、投資經驗及投資目標等。所以,投資者在非網上的銷售過程中購買複雜產品,一般會受到合適性規定所保障。

然而,由於網上投資平台發展迅速,投資者現時可以自行接觸及購買各式各樣的投資產品,包括複雜產品。在網上平台進行投資時,投資者一般不需聯絡任何銷售人員或投資顧問,便可以直接根據平台提供的資料選擇及購買投資產品。由於複雜產品通常較難理解,加上在網上環境下一般不會與銷售人員或投資顧問溝通及獲得適當的指引或建議,部分投資者可能因而購入不合適的複雜產品。

為加強對投資者的保障,由2019年7月6日起,合適性規定已擴展至中介人按客戶要求而出售或客戶自行購買複雜產品的情況 (在交易所買賣的衍生產品除外 – 見附註)。新措施適用於網上與非網上銷售環境,中介人在按客戶要求而出售或客戶自行購買複雜產品時,須評估客戶是否適合投資於有關的複雜產品,亦必須向客戶提供主要產品資料(例如複雜產品的主要條款和特點)及警告聲明,尤其是「本產品屬複雜產品,投資者應審慎行事」或類似的警告。

在作出任何投資決定前,投資者應該細閱有關產品資料,並留意警告聲明。

 

額外保障措施適用的複雜產品例子

  • 複雜債券(例如是屬永續性質或後償性質的債券,或那些具有浮息或延遲派付利息條款、可延遲到期日,或那些屬可換股或可交換性質或具有或然撇減或彌補虧損特點的債券,或那些具備非單一信貸支持提供者及結構的債券)及/或由一項或以上特點組成的債券
  • 證監會認可的衍生產品基金
  • 證監會認可的對沖基金
  • 證監會認可的非上市結構性投資產品(包括股票掛鈎存款、股票掛鈎投資工具/投資等)
  • 其他並非在交易所買賣的結構性投資產品
  • 證券型代幣

 

額外保障措施不適用的交易所買賣複雜產品例子(見附註)

  • 於香港期貨交易所買賣的期貨合約
  • 於香港聯合交易所買賣的股票衍生工具(例如是衍生權證、牛熊證及上市認股權)
  • 證監會認可及於香港聯合交易所買賣的合成ETF及期貨ETF
  • 證監會認可及於香港聯合交易所買賣的槓桿及反向產品

複雜產品 = 高風險?

複雜產品各有不同的複雜程度和風險水平。因此,複雜產品並不一定高風險。舉例來說,債券基金很多時都會基於不同原因大量使用衍生工具,例如環球債券基金需使用衍生工具以進入一些限制外來投資的市場,從而獲得投資這些市場的機會。另一方面,很多簡單(即容易理解的)產品,例如一些並不複雜的高收益債券,也可以有非常高的風險。

投資產品的複雜性可由多個原因引致 (例如使用衍生工具、缺乏具流動性的第二市場,以及欠缺足夠及透明的產品資料),因此,不論其風險水平高或低,都令一般零售投資者難以理解有關產品。所以,額外保障措施要求中介人在按客戶要求而出售或客戶自行購買複雜產品時,必須確保該產品真的適合該客戶。

投資者應為自己的投資決定負責,就算是簡單產品

簡單產品指那些一般零售投資者在合理情況下可以理解其條款、特點及風險的產品。但投資者應注意簡單產品不一定代表風險較低。不少簡單產品其實風險甚高(例如一些並不複雜的高收益債券)。由於中介人並不需要就客戶自行購買簡單產品而進行合適性評估,因此投資者不應忽視或低估投資於有關產品的風險,並應對自己的投資決定負責。

投資決定要明智

不論是簡單或複雜產品,亦不論是投資者自行購買或經中介人招攬銷售或建議購買,投資者都應該自己做功課,深入了解產品特點和風險,審慎評估及選擇符合自己投資目標和風險承受能力的產品。如有疑問,應尋求專業意見。

客戶協議書內的合適性條款

除了上述的證監會合適性規定外,客戶協議書內也設有合適性條款,要求中介人在向客戶招攬銷售或建議任何金融產品時須確保產品的合適性。然而,該條款在不涉及招攬銷售或建議購買時便不適用。換言之,客戶協議書內的合適性條款並不能保障自行購買任何金融產品(包括複雜產品)的投資者。

 

附註:複雜產品如屬在香港交易所或在指明司法管轄區交易所買賣的衍生產品,上述的額外保障措施將不適用。這是因為在交易所買賣的衍生產品一般具有劃一的特點,並已設有其他措施規管其銷售。請按此處 ,查閱交易所買賣產品的指明司法管轄區的名單。

 

2019年7月4日