Skip to main content

When it comes to annuities, the first consideration for many people may be whether the returns are sufficiently appealing. However, this just goes to show that the public may harbour certain misunderstandings about annuity products.

If your goal is to pursue returns, an annuity may not be a suitable choice

The basic financial concept of positive correlation between risk and return also applies to annuities. As a retirement insurance product, the risk of an annuity is usually low, and correspondingly its return, therefore, is usually low too. The main purpose of an annuity is to provide income protection for retirement in the long term and to address the financial risks brought about by longevity. Since an annuity is not an investment product, the purchase decision should not be based merely on the perspective of returns. It is also inappropriate to compare an annuity with other investment tools such as stocks, bonds, etc.

That said, it does not mean that there is no need to consider the rate of return of an annuity. First of all, an annuity is a long-term insurance product, meaning your capital will be locked for an extended period. If the rate of return of an annuity is lower than the long term inflation rate (Hong Kong’s average annual rate of inflation over the past decade has been approximately 3%), the purchasing power of your capital will be diminished. Furthermore, when comparing different annuity products, the rate of return is also an important factor to consider.

Find out more: Should I buy an annuity plan?

While descriptions of returns come in a myriad of forms, the “internal rate of return (IRR)” matters most

Let’s say there are two annuity products. The marketing materials of the ABC annuity plan indicate the total annuity income is significantly higher than the premiums paid, such as up to 300%. The XYZ annuity plan, on the other hand, offers special bonuses and maturity rewards. Both products look appealing but how should consumers compare them?

The accumulated total income, bonus / rewards may seem attractive, but the time factor is not reflected. Assuming the same amount of capital is invested, a payout of $10,000 after one year vs. after 10 years would be completely different in terms of the rate of return. Therefore, the return of different annuity products can be evaluated and compared when the premiums paid over the full contribution period and all annuity income are converted into an annualised calculation (i.e. to compute the internal rate of return, “IRR”).

The IRR is a way to calculate the return. The term “internal” means only the relevant cash flows are calculated, including the invested capital (e.g. premiums), withdrawn amounts (e.g. annuity income) and the time factor. External factors (e.g. inflation rate) are not considered.

HKMC Annuity Plan’s IRR may reach 4%

The “HKMC Annuity Plan”, the public annuity scheme spearheaded by the government, is a scheme that provides life-long guaranteed income protection. The plan was launched in July 2018. For 65-year-old annuitants with single premium of $1 million, a male annuitant would receive a guaranteed monthly income of $5,800, while a female annuitant would receive $5,300, for as long as they live. Since this is a life-long annuity, there is no fixed tenure. Assuming the average life expectancy of a 65-year-old male is about 86, the IRR is approximately 4%. The longer the annuitant lives, the more annuity income he will receive, and the higher the IRR will be, and vice versa. (If the terms for subsequent HKMC Annuity Plans are changed, e.g. by increasing or lowering the guaranteed monthly income amount, the IRR would also change.)

Private annuity: take note of “guaranteed” and “non-guaranteed” income

In the private market, the income payout of annuity products is usually divided into two parts, namely “guaranteed” and “non-guaranteed”. As the name suggests, “non-guaranteed” income is not guaranteed, and is often affected by factors such as the investment return, claims and profits of the insurance company. In an extreme case, the “non-guaranteed” part could be zero.

As a product to protect retirement living, the “guaranteed” income of an annuity is especially important. While the “non-guaranteed” amount may seem appealing, your overall retirement income could be significantly affected if this part fails to be paid. Therefore, consumers should carefully note how much of the annuity income is guaranteed and how much is non-guaranteed, especially for products that claim to offer high returns.

In the past, private insurance companies usually do not disclose IRR information for their annuity products. However, in line with the government’s tax deduction arrangements for deferred annuities, eligible deferred annuity products are required to announce their IRR for consumers’ reference.  In addition, you can also work out the IRR on a spreadsheet. There are many IRR calculation teaching materials available online that you can refer to.

The annuity rate is not the rate of return

There is a common misconception that the “annuity rate” is the rate of return. Generally speaking, the annuity rate refers to the ratio of the annual annuity income to the total premiums paid. Taking the HKMC Annuity Plan as an example, for a 65 year-old male annuitant, the annuity rate is approximately 7%, (i.e. for a total premium of $1 million, the annual annuity income is approximately HK$70,000). The average IRR of the plan, on the other hand, is approximately 4%.

The interest rate of the policy is not equivalent to the rate of return

Some annuity products allow policyholder to keep annuity income as a rollover to enjoy the interest at a rate announced by the insurance company from time to time. Do note that the relevant interest rate is only applicable to rolled-over amounts and the interest rate of the policy can be changed by the insurance company at any time.

Progressively increasing annuity incomes are not equivalent to higher returns

Certain annuity products offer progressively increasing incomes, e.g. increasing by 3% each year to balance inflation risks. However, the premium of these products is usually higher. Therefore, it does not mean their returns are definitely higher. On the other hand, a “progression” can also be achieved by lowering the initial incomes and raising later ones. Therefore, at the end of the day, the IRR is an effective method of evaluation and comparison.


Last but not least, consumers should note that the rate of return should not be seen as the one and only factor for comparing annuity products. On top of the rate of return, consumers should also consider the credit risk and the service quality of the insurance company, as well as the suitability of relevant annuity product for their personal needs and affordability.

 

 

21 December 2018

Skip to main content

提起年金,很多人第一個考慮是回報是否吸引,反映大眾對年金產品存在一定誤解。

若你的目標是追求回報,年金可能不是一個合適的選擇

風險和回報通常呈正向關係,這是理財的基本概念。作為一種退休保險產品,年金風險一般較低,回報亦相對較低。年金的主要作用是提供長期的退休收入保障,應對長壽所帶來的財務風險。年金不是投資產品,所以不應純粹以回報角度考慮投保與否,更不適宜與股票、債券等投資工具作直接比較。

但是,這並不代表不用考慮年金的回報率。首先,年金是長期保險產品,資金被長期鎖定,若年金的回報率低於通脹率(香港過去10年平均每年通脹率約為3%),資金購買力便會被長期蠶食。此外,當我們比較不同年金產品時,回報率亦是重要考慮因素之一。

了解更多: 是否應該買年金?

 

回報表述花多眼亂,最終得看「內部回報率」(Internal Rate of Return,簡稱IRR)

假設有兩項年金產品, ABC年金計劃的宣傳資料顯示總回報大幅高於投入的保費,例如達300%;而XYZ年金計劃則提供特別紅利及期滿獎賞,兩者均看似十分吸引,消費者應如何比較?

總回報、紅利、獎賞或許看似吸引,但卻沒有反映時間因素。假設投入相同的本金,一年後派發1萬元,跟十年後才派發1萬元相比,雖然兩者都是獲得1萬元,但回報率卻是完全不同。所以,應把年金的全期保費及獲派發的年金收入作年化回報計算 (即計算內部回報率),才可以評估及比較不同年金產品的回報。

內部回報率(Internal rate of return,簡稱IRR)是一種計算回報的方法。所謂「內部」,是指只計算有關的現金流,包括所有投入的資金(例如保費)、提取的金額(例如年金收入)及時間因素,而不考慮外在因素的影響(例如通脹率)。

 

香港年金計劃「內部回報率」可達4%

政府推動的公共年金「香港年金計劃」屬終身的保證年金。計劃於2018年7月推出,以65歲投保100萬元為例,男性及女性投保人每月分別可獲保證派發5,800港元及5,300港元,直至百年歸老。由於是終身年金,所以沒有固定年期,若以65歲男性平均預期壽命約為86歲計算,內部回報率約為4%。若投保人壽命愈長,所得的年金收入便愈多,內部回報率亦愈高,反之亦然。(註: 若往後推出的香港年金計劃更改計劃條款,例如增加或減少保證派發金額,有關內部回報率亦會隨之改變。)

 

私營年金留意「保證」與「非保證」的派發金額

私營市場方面,年金產品派發的年金收入金額一般分為「保證」及「非保證」兩部分。「非保證」顧名思義並不保證,一般受保險公司投資回報、理賠及盈利等因素所影響。在極端情況下,「非保證」部分可以是零。

作為保障退休生活的產品,年金的「保證」派發金額特別重要。「非保證」金額或許看似吸引,但萬一不能兌現,可能會令你的退休收入大失預算。所以,消費者應小心分辨年金派發金額中有多少是保證,多少是非保證,特別是一些標榜高回報的產品。

過往,私營保險公司一般沒有提供年金產品的內部回報率,但配合政府建議的延期年金扣稅安排,合資格的延期年金產品須公布其內部回報率,供消費者參考(有關建議仍待立法會通過,才能生效)。另外,若你比較熟識電腦操作的話,亦可以自行用Excel試算表計算內部回報率,互聯網上有不少教學材料,可供參考。

 

年金率不是回報率

把「年金率」誤以為是回報率是一個常見的謬誤。年金率一般指每年年金收入金額相對總保費的比率。以香港年金計劃為例,65歲男性投保的話,年金率約為7% (即總保費100萬,每年約派發7萬),而平均內部回報率則約為4%。

保單息率也不等於回報率

有些年金產品容許投保人不提取年金收入金額,而讓其按保險公司不時公布的息率在保單內滾存累積。必須注意有關息率只適用於累積滾存的金額,而且保單息率亦可能隨時調整。

年金收入金額按年遞增不等同更高回報

有些年金產品提供按年遞增的年金收入,例如每年增加3%,以平衡通脹風險。但羊毛出在羊身上,此類產品的保費一般亦會較高,所以並不代表產品的回報一定會較高。另一方面亦可是減低前期的年金收入,而提高後期的派發金額,同樣可以做到遞增的效果。所以,最終還得計算內部回報率,才能作有效的評估及比較。


最後,消費者應留意回報率不應視作比較年金產品的唯一因素。除回報率外,消費者也應考慮保險公司的信貸風險、服務質素、以及有關年金產品是否符合你的個人需要及負擔能力。

 

 

2018年12月21日